|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Alias hell and COA destination |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
HenriqueS |
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 7:34 am Post subject: Alias hell and COA destination |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 22 Sep 2006 Posts: 235
|
Hello folks,
A work coleague left a basic MQ infrastucture setup on two server before going on vacation. But the development crew has no experience dealing with COA/COD report messages.
I´ve tried to go into the setup my co-worker did, but I found some stuff to somewhat strange...below I will explain the setup...
Application (APP1) that sends a message thru QM1, using the queue RQUEUE1, to reach LQUEUE1 on QM2, with the following message properties:
--->messageType = MQC.MQMT_REQUEST
--->report = MQC.MQRO_COA
--->replyToQueueName = REPORT.QUEUE.ALIAS
queue manager QM1
remote queue definition RQUEUE1
local queue REPORT.QUEUE
remote queue definition REPORT.QUEUE.ALIAS, properties:
--->remote queue = REPORT.QUEUE
--->remote queue mgr = QM.MYQMGR
remote queue definition QM.MYQMGR, properties:
--->remote queue mgr = QM1
queue manager QM2
local queue LQUEUE1
-----------
So, my initial idea was to get back a COA message in the REPORT.QUEUE message on QM1, but the COA message stops at the dead letter queue on QM2 saying that it wasn´t able to locate the queue manager QM.MYQMGR.
I got to the conclusion that since QM.MYQMGR is just a queue alias on QM1, it is just impossible to force QM2 discover the real target to deliver the COA message. Am I right?
Questions:
a) Should I create a queue alias on QM2 to point QM.MYQMGR on QM1?
b) Is the replyToQueueName = REPORT.QUEUE.ALIAS needed on every message my app sends? There is no way to force this to all messages?
c) Should I just eliminate the queue alias on QM1 (QM.MYQMGR) and change de the property "remote queue mgr = QM.MYQMGR" on REPORT.QUEUE.ALIAS to "remote queue mgr = QM1" ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:10 am Post subject: Re: Alias hell and COA destination |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Just remember that the report messages are coming FROM QM2, going TO QM1.
HenriqueS wrote: |
Questions:
a) Should I create a queue alias on QM2 to point QM.MYQMGR on QM1? |
Yes, sort of. It's really a Qmgr Alias you need (which is a remote queue) Or create an XMITQ named QM.MYQMGR that is tied to a channel that points to QM1.
HenriqueS wrote: |
b) Is the replyToQueueName = REPORT.QUEUE.ALIAS needed on every message my app sends? There is no way to force this to all messages? |
Yes it's needed. You could force it, with an exit - but don't.
HenriqueS wrote: |
c) Should I just eliminate the queue alias on QM1 (QM.MYQMGR) and change de the property "remote queue mgr = QM.MYQMGR" on REPORT.QUEUE.ALIAS to "remote queue mgr = QM1" ? |
You could. But you'd still need a route to QM1 from QM2 - i.e. an XMITQ named "QM1". _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
HenriqueS |
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 12:16 pm Post subject: Re: Alias hell and COA destination |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 22 Sep 2006 Posts: 235
|
Hi,
So I got the following to work and recover the COAs from the queue REPORT.QUEUE at QM1...see my aditions in bold.
Application (APP1) that sends a message thru QM1, using the queue RQUEUE1, to reach LQUEUE1 on QM2, with the following message properties:
--->messageType = MQC.MQMT_REQUEST
--->report = MQC.MQRO_COA
--->replyToQueueName = REPORT.QUEUE.ALIAS
queue manager QM1
remote queue definition RQUEUE1
local queue REPORT.QUEUE
remote queue definition REPORT.QUEUE.ALIAS, properties:
--->remote queue = REPORT.QUEUE
--->remote queue mgr = QM.MYQMGR
remote queue definition QM.MYQMGR, properties:
--->remote queue mgr = QM1
queue manager QM2
local queue LQUEUE1
remote queue definition QM.MYRQMGR, properties:
--->remote queue mgr = QM1
--->transmission queue = XMITQ2
transmission queue XMITQ2
Dont your think this is a bit too much verbose? There isn´t redundant stuff in there? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 12:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Certainly the remote queue definition on QM1 is redundant, as it points back to itself.
Likewise the QM.MYQMGR may be redundant.
If you already have an XMITQ for QM1 on QM2, then you can not specify XMITQ2. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
HenriqueS |
Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 22 Sep 2006 Posts: 235
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|