Author |
Message
|
jonesn |
Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 6:50 am Post subject: Flexible RouterList values |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 09 Jan 2002 Posts: 47
|
Chaps,
I have found this strange behaviour on the following platform...
WBI 6 Toolkit Windows 6.0.2
WBI 6 Runtime FixPack 1
WMQ 5.3 CSD 9
Win XP SP 2 plus latest patches
VMWare Player to host the development image (XP host & XP Image)
I know we are using an old toolkit but this is the version dictated at the moment so an upgrade is not really possible.
I have a simple message flow that has an MQInput, Compute, RouteToLabel, LabelOne, LabelTwo, MQOutputOne and MQOutputTwo along with a good sprinkling of trace nodes. This is a much simplified flow just to demonstrate the problem.
The compute node sets up the RouterList structure for the RouteToLabel node that follows. When I mistakenly set the RouterList structure as shown below the message flow continued to work, i.e. control passed to LabelOne.
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.Destination.RouterList.DesintationData[1].labelName = 'LabelOne';
I was surprised to discover how flexible the coding behind the RouteToLabel is.
Can anyone explain why/how this is working.
Thanks _________________ ---
Nick Jones
IBM Certified Solutions Expert (WebSphere MQ Integrator) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 7:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Because your label is set to "RouteToFirst" and you've set the label property of the first DestinationList item?
Why wouldn't it work?  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jonesn |
Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 7:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 09 Jan 2002 Posts: 47
|
Vitor,
It should not work because I have spelt DestinationData wrong. In fact it works no matter what I put in place of the DestinationData element. This is more flexible than I would expect.
Thanks _________________ ---
Nick Jones
IBM Certified Solutions Expert (WebSphere MQ Integrator) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 7:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
jonesn wrote: |
It should not work because I have spelt DestinationData wrong. In fact it works no matter what I put in place of the DestinationData element. This is more flexible than I would expect.
|
So you did! RTFP
I would theorise there's a feature in the RouteTo lable that means it's referencing the element of RouterList anonomously. Hence as long as it can find an end of branch element called labelName it works.
Not something I'd want to rely on, but interesting certainly. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wbi_telecom |
Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 7:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 15 Feb 2006 Posts: 188 Location: Harrisburg, PA
|
Looks like it works fine with "label" too. This is from Infocenter
if LocalEnvironment.Destination.RouterList.DestinationData is null then
set LocalEnvironment.Destination.RouterList.DestinationData."label" = newLabel;
else
create LASTCHILD OF LocalEnvironment.Destination.RouterList.DestinationData
NAME 'label' VALUE newLabel;
end if;
END;
Cheers, |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jonesn |
Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 7:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 09 Jan 2002 Posts: 47
|
Vitor,
I would say that this behaviour is a bit worrying. As you can see we should be getting ready to apply fixpacks in the next few weeks. If a fixpack includes a fix to the behaviour we see here we are likely to have things falling over as we use RouteToLabel extensively through our message flows.
Can anyone from the IBM labs, who happen to read this forum, comment on this flexible behaviour we are seeing & any fixes that may hit us in the future.
Thanks _________________ ---
Nick Jones
IBM Certified Solutions Expert (WebSphere MQ Integrator) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jonesn |
Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 7:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 09 Jan 2002 Posts: 47
|
wbi_telecom,
I noticed the difference between the InfoCentre documentation as well so it appears there are more inconsistencies with the RouteToLabel subject.
Thanks _________________ ---
Nick Jones
IBM Certified Solutions Expert (WebSphere MQ Integrator) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|