Author |
Message
|
paatchu |
Posted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 1:32 am Post subject: Can MQ update DB on another Computer.? |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 07 Sep 2006 Posts: 32
|
The scenarion is like this:
From Machine-A, a client program sends a a Request to MQ server in Machine-B.
Now that computer updates the DB situated in another Machine-C.
My queries are:
1) Is it possible only with triggering.?
2) where can i find a sample program /Articles on this matter.?
I would like to know ur ideas regarding this?
Any kind of help would be highly appreciated.
[/b] _________________ Poetry with Programming |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
marcin.kasinski |
Posted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 1:37 am Post subject: Re: Can MQ update DB on another Computer.? |
|
|
Sentinel
Joined: 21 Dec 2004 Posts: 850 Location: Poland / Warsaw
|
Hm, it is quite wide question.
What can I say.
You can do it in many ways and it is rather common scenario (MQ get -> DB insert).
You can do it with triggering , standalone, MDB,...
You can do it with JAVA, C, COBOL, ...
The best way: it depends... _________________ Marcin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 1:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You can find sample programs installed with MQ, if you installed the samples.
The MQ Information Center has a book called the Application Programming Guide. It has a section that discusses the sample programs.
Almost every single URL posted in messages on this website has a link to the Info Center - except the ones that are links to the Broker Info Center. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Your scenario relies on Machine A being able to place a request message on Machine B, hence you'd need an MQ client connection between A and B or server side channels to carry the message. Machine B must be able to access the database on Machine C, so this implies a client link between the two machines. Unless they have replicated databases, RPC links, piped data transfer or an MQ link running PM4Data.
You'd also need a triggered application on Machine B. Unless the application on Machine B was written to be long running. Or there wasn't an application on Machine B. Which could only be written in Java. Or C. Or a language with a supported environment on Machine B. Unless there wasn't an application at all (as I mentioned before).
Hope that clarifies things.  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
paatchu |
Posted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 4:24 am Post subject: Thanks |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 07 Sep 2006 Posts: 32
|
Thanks Vitor,Jeffrey,Marcin for ur valuable suggestions.
Hope i can start from here.. _________________ Poetry with Programming |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 4:32 am Post subject: Re: Thanks |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Please don't call me Jeffrey. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|