ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » MSQI: Transform JMS message

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 MSQI: Transform JMS message « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
EagleStar
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 6:42 am    Post subject: MSQI: Transform JMS message Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 20 Jun 2007
Posts: 6

Hi there,

I am upgrading our web app to use jms messages instead of mq messages. Do I need to make any changes to the MQSI code to process jms messages? When I debug the message at the input node on MQSI the payload is in BLOB format and this is causing errors. Previously the payload was in XML format (when using MQ messages).

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Fiona.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marcin.kasinski
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 6:46 am    Post subject: Re: MSQI: Transform JMS message Reply with quote

Sentinel

Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 850
Location: Poland / Warsaw

What king of errors is it ?
Have you checked content of message ? Is it XML ?
_________________
Marcin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
EagleStar
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 6:52 am    Post subject: MSQI: Transform JMS message Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 20 Jun 2007
Posts: 6

I've checked the message using rfhutil and the content is XML. Don't get any errors on MQSI, the message is just put on the request failure queue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 7:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

I really hope you aren't actually using MQSI, and are really using WMB.

Likely you are not building your JMS message using a TextMessage.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EagleStar
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 7:10 am    Post subject: MQSI: Transform JMS message Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 20 Jun 2007
Posts: 6

Actually we are using MQSI (version 2.1). Can you explain further about the text message? I'm doing the following:

Code:

TextMessage message = session.createTextMessage();
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 7:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Well, okay.

You should be upgrading to v6 real soon now, as 2.1 is not at all supported and will likely not meet most of your business needs - especially in the realm of XML and Web Services.

I guess that is what I meant by TextMessage. So if you're doing that, then it's not clear what the problem is. What does the message look like on the queue? What are the properties on the MQInput node? What is in the MQRFH2?
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EagleStar
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 7:40 am    Post subject: MQSI: Transform JMS message Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 20 Jun 2007
Posts: 6

When I examine the message using rfhutil the body is in XML format. However when I debug the message on MQSI the body is in BLOB format. The properties on the input queue are all set to default values. The message structure looks as follows:

Code:

MQMD
MQRFH2
MCD
JMS
USR
BLOB


Previously the last part of the message was XML.

In control centre looking at the Input node the tabs have the following:

Code:


Node type: MQInput
Basic:   queue name of IE.ESLI.BGSW.REQUEST.INPUT
Default:   nothing entered
Advanced: transaction mode of YES & order mode DEFAULT
Validation: validate master: NONE, validateFailureAction: exception, timing:deferred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

I guess the MCD doesn't indicate that the Message Domain is XML, and since you don't have a Default domain set on the MQInput node, then it's using BLOB.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EagleStar
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:17 am    Post subject: MQSI: Transform JMS message Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 20 Jun 2007
Posts: 6

I tried setting the message domain using message.setJMSType("XML") but it set the msg type instead. Should I change the settings on the input queue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Not the queue, the MQInput node.

There should be a JMS property that matches the Message Domain, but I don't know what it is off the top of my head.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

jefflowrey wrote:
Not the queue, the MQInput node.

There should be a JMS property that matches the Message Domain, but I don't know what it is off the top of my head.

The property setting the domain on the Flow is in the same field as the jms_text information in the RFH2.

You are telling us that you used to use java base.
The easiest way to fix this is to set your JNDI for the target queue (broker flow input queue) to be MQ and not JMS. (uri form : "queue://QMGR/QUEUE?targetClient=1")

Enjoy
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

fjb_saper wrote:
The easiest way to fix this is to set your JNDI for the target queue (broker flow input queue) to be MQ and not JMS. (uri form : "queue://QMGR/QUEUE?targetClient=1")


Um.

That would cause the message to arrive with no RFH2 on it at all. Which would also cause it to parsed according to the default values on the MQInput node. Which are set to nothing at all...

Which... okay. Would cause Broker to inspect the data and decide that it was XML and could be processed as self-defining XML data.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EagleStar
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 8:07 am    Post subject: MQSI: Transform JMS message Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 20 Jun 2007
Posts: 6

Set the Message Domain on the Input Node to be XML. Works a treat now, thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » MSQI: Transform JMS message
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.