Author |
Message
|
4integration |
Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 4:47 am Post subject: Local WMB dev env and domain users |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 04 Sep 2006 Posts: 197 Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
|
Hello,
We are in a Microsoft environment (WinXP on the clients and ActiveDirectory for identity management) and have the WMB development environment installed locally.
The WMB services are running as "Local System" user but have problems when the domain password are changed we often get into problems.
Would it better to create a local user with administrator privileges and have that for running the WMB environment? Would that be possible and a simplified management? _________________ Best regards
4 Integration |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mensch |
Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 8:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Disciple
Joined: 17 Jul 2005 Posts: 166
|
Hi 4Integration,
If you change the domain userneme password ..you have to make sure that same password gets reflected in your system MQSeries services.
You dont have to create local user for running broker. you can do it using domain user as well. _________________ Thanks and Regards ,
Mensch |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PrasLearnsWBI |
Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 11:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 06 Apr 2007 Posts: 13 Location: Budapest, Hungary
|
Quote: |
If you change the domain userneme password ..you have to make sure that same password gets reflected in your system MQSeries services.
|
Mensch is right.
But i would prefer creating a local user with administrator privileges. That is the solution for a lifetime. It would run your Services required for your WMB environment.
In our set up, I have the same local admin for DB2 , MQ Series and WMB. And trust me, i get a good sleep No offenses.
Thanks
Pras _________________ I wonder that I am around !! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JosephGramig |
Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 12:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 09 Feb 2006 Posts: 1244 Location: Gold Coast of Florida, USA
|
It all depends on your security requirements.
At some installations, if you can log on with an ID then that ID must have an expiring password. You must have the discipline to update all the brokers that use the Domain ID when you change the password.
Commonly, I see institutions run the brokers with the same ID. They also use the same database for the brokers. If a migration requires a change to the broker tables (as it did from 2.1 to 5.0 or 6.0), what will happen to the other brokers that are not migrated that share that database?
Think about it. _________________ Joseph
Administrator - IBM WebSphere MQ (WMQ) V6.0, IBM WebSphere Message Broker (WMB) V6.1 & V6.0
Solution Designer - WMQ V6.0
Solution Developer - WMB V6.1 & V6.0, WMQ V5.3 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
4integration |
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 5:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 04 Sep 2006 Posts: 197 Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
|
Just a reminder, this is not a production or QA environment, it's a development environment.
Today we are using the domain user for WMB and WMQ. DB2 are running as db2admin user.
When a password changes on the domain we are executing those commands
For IBM WebSphere MQ:
Quote: |
amqmsrvn -user DOMAIN\<userid> -password <new_passwd> |
For IBM WebSphere Message Broker
Quote: |
mqsichangebroker WBRK6_DEFAULT_BROKER -i DOMAIN\<userid> -a <new_passwd> -p <new_passwd> |
For IBM WebSphere Message Broker Configuration Manager
Quote: |
mqsichangeconfigmgr WBRK6_DEFAULT_CONFIGURATION_MANAGER -i DOMAIN\<userid>
<new_passwd> -p <new_passwd> |
But we have experienced problems when this happens and would like to minimize the problems. Soon the program (3+ projects and 150+ persons) will have a large number of WMB developers and if we can prepare even more we will get less questions/problems on our table
It seems that you, Pras, have good experience in running the components with a non-domain user id, maybe we should give it a test.
Btw, what password is set for the db2admin user as default? _________________ Best regards
4 Integration |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 5:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
The db2admin password is set by the person who installed DB2. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
4integration |
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 6:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 04 Sep 2006 Posts: 197 Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
|
namely myself .... I found the password _________________ Best regards
4 Integration |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
4integration |
Posted: Thu May 03, 2007 4:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 04 Sep 2006 Posts: 197 Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
|
PrasLearnsWBI wrote: |
Quote: |
If you change the domain userneme password ..you have to make sure that same password gets reflected in your system MQSeries services.
|
Mensch is right.
But i would prefer creating a local user with administrator privileges. That is the solution for a lifetime. It would run your Services required for your WMB environment.
In our set up, I have the same local admin for DB2 , MQ Series and WMB. And trust me, i get a good sleep No offenses.
Thanks
Pras |
Hi,
I have got new laptop which I will setup with DB2, WMQ, WMB, WMBT etc. The company environment are using Windows domains ( I am logged in with a Windows domain account. Now I want to have all services working without using any domain account and/or any checks to the domain.
DB2 is installed using a local db2admin user = OK
Next step is to install WMQ, but I have problems...
If I set "no" in the "network configuration" (launchpad) the installation works fine but the final steps "Prepare WebSphere MQ Wizard" requires me to enter a domain user....
How can/should I handle this? _________________ Best regards
4 Integration |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
4integration |
Posted: Thu May 03, 2007 11:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 04 Sep 2006 Posts: 197 Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
|
I have been working on two scripts for creating the default configuration and configure it to run as non domain user (=wmb4adm)
Target is developer environment.
I would be happy if you guys could make a review of them if I am missing some important steps and maybe you can find it useful as well
Create WMB environment:
Quote: |
@echo off
SET userid=wmb4adm
SET password=wmb4adm
SET database_name=DEFBKDB6
SET mq_queue_mgr=WBRK6_DEFAULT_QUEUE_MANAGER
SET wmb_config_mgr=WBRK6_DEFAULT_CONFIGURATION_MANAGER
SET wmb_broker_name=WBRK6_DEFAULT_BROKER
ECHO.
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO # Add user + add it to Administrators group
ECHO # Error message "System error 1378..." is OK ( = already member )
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO #
NET USER %userid% %password% /ADD /expires:never
NET LOCALGROUP "Administrators" "db2admin" /add
NET LOCALGROUP "Administrators" "%userid%" /add
ECHO #
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO.
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO # Run mqsiprofile
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO #
CALL mqsiprofile
ECHO #
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO.
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO # Create/Start/Configure the queue manager named %mq_queue_mgr%
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO #
CALL crtmqm %mq_queue_mgr%
CALL strmqm %mq_queue_mgr%
CALL runmqsc %mq_queue_mgr% < wmb_config_mgr.input
ECHO #
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO.
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO # Create a configuration manager named %wmb_config_mgr% with queue manager %mq_queue_mgr%
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO #
CALL mqsicreateconfigmgr %wmb_config_mgr% -i %userid% -a %password% -q %mq_queue_mgr%
ECHO.
ECHO Starting the WMB Configuration Manager %wmb_config_mgr%
CALL mqsistart %wmb_config_mgr%
ECHO #
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO.
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO # Creating the database named %database_name% for userid %userid% for the default broker.
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO #
CALL mqsicreatedb %database_name% -i %userid% -a %password% -e DB2
ECHO #
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO.
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO # Setting up a broker named %wmb_broker_name% using the queue manager %mq_queue_mgr%
ECHO # and database %database_name%
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO #
CALL mqsicreatebroker %wmb_broker_name% -i %userid% -a %password% -q %mq_queue_mgr% -n %database_name%
ECHO.
ECHO Starting the Message Broker %wmb_broker_name%
CALL mqsistart %wmb_broker_name%
ECHO #
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO.
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO # Modifying the Windows services
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO #
REM sc config DB2-0 start= demand obj= .\db2admin password= db2admin
REM sc config DB2DAS00 start= demand obj= .\db2admin password= db2admin
sc config DB2-0 start= demand
sc config DB2DAS00 start= demand
sc config MQSeriesServices start= demand obj= .\%userid% password= %password%
sc config MQSeriesBrokerWBRK6_DEFAULT_BROKER start= demand obj= .\%userid% password= %password%
sc config MQSeriesBrokerWBRK6_DEFAULT_CONFIGURATION_MANAGER start= demand obj= .\%userid% password= %password%
ECHO #
ECHO #######################################################################
:END
ECHO Done |
input file: wmb_config_mgr.input
Quote: |
DEFINE LISTENER(WBRK6_DEFAULT.LISTENER) +
TRPTYPE(TCP) +
PORT(2414) +
CONTROL(QMGR)
START LISTENER(WBRK6_DEFAULT.LISTENER)
DEFINE CHL ('java.channel') +
CHLTYPE(SVRCONN) +
TRPTYPE(TCP) +
maxmsgl(104857600)
END
|
Delete WMB environment:
Quote: |
@echo off
SET userid=wmb4adm
SET password=wmb4adm
SET database_name=DEFBKDB6
SET mq_queue_mgr=WBRK6_DEFAULT_QUEUE_MANAGER
SET wmb_config_mgr=WBRK6_DEFAULT_CONFIGURATION_MANAGER
SET wmb_broker_name=WBRK6_DEFAULT_BROKER
ECHO.
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO # Run mqsiprofile
ECHO #######################################################################
CALL mqsiprofile
ECHO.
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO # Deleting the broker named %wmb_broker_name% using the queue manager
ECHO # %mq_queue_mgr% and database %database_name%
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO #
ECHO Stopping the Message Broker %wmb_broker_name%
CALL mqsistop %wmb_broker_name%
ECHO
ECHO Deleting the Message Broker %wmb_broker_name%
CALL mqsideletebroker %wmb_broker_name% -w
ECHO #
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO.
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO # Deleting the database named %database_name% for the broker.
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO #
CALL mqsideletedb %database_name%
ECHO #
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO.
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO # Delete the configuration manager named %wmb_config_mgr%
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO #
ECHO Stopping the WMB Configuration Manager %wmb_config_mgr%
CALL mqsistop %wmb_config_mgr%
ECHO.
ECHO Deleting the WMB Configuration Manager %wmb_config_mgr%
CALL mqsideleteconfigmgr %wmb_config_mgr%
ECHO #
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO.
ECHO #######################################################################
ECHO # Delete the queue manager named %mq_queue_mgr%
ECHO #######################################################################
CALL endmqm -w %mq_queue_mgr%
CALL dltmqm %mq_queue_mgr%
ECHO Done
:END |
[/i] _________________ Best regards
4 Integration |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
4integration |
Posted: Fri May 04, 2007 10:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 04 Sep 2006 Posts: 197 Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
|
I am running the local WMB environment as user 'wmb4adm' as described in the previous post.
At first it worked just fine but now I get some problems, in Windows event log I get:
Quote: |
Entity 'wbimb' has insufficient authority to access object 'MY.QUEUE'.
The specified entity is not authorized to access the required object. The following requested permissions are unauthorized: put/passid
Ensure that the correct level of authority has been set for this entity against the required object, or ensure that the entity is a member of a privileged group. |
Do you have any idea on how to solve this? _________________ Best regards
4 Integration |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sat May 05, 2007 3:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
4integration wrote: |
I am running the local WMB environment as user 'wmb4adm' as described in the previous post.
At first it worked just fine but now I get some problems, in Windows event log I get:
Quote: |
Entity 'wbimb' has insufficient authority to access object 'MY.QUEUE'.
The specified entity is not authorized to access the required object. The following requested permissions are unauthorized: put/passid
Ensure that the correct level of authority has been set for this entity against the required object, or ensure that the entity is a member of a privileged group. |
Do you have any idea on how to solve this? |
The error message is very clear. It outlines the missing permission and the object which is missing those permissions.
It is now up to you to resolve...
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mensch |
Posted: Sun May 06, 2007 4:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Disciple
Joined: 17 Jul 2005 Posts: 166
|
Please make sure that your WMB user and DB2 local user are part of mqm, mqbrks and DB2USERS group _________________ Thanks and Regards ,
Mensch |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
4integration |
Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 8:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 04 Sep 2006 Posts: 197 Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
|
Mensch wrote: |
Please make sure that your WMB user and DB2 local user are part of mqm, mqbrks and DB2USERS group |
Yes, I had missed that and seems quite logical It seems to solve the problem. Thanks! _________________ Best regards
4 Integration |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|