|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Searching message tree? |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
vmcgloin |
Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 5:01 am Post subject: Searching message tree? |
|
|
Knight
Joined: 04 Apr 2002 Posts: 560 Location: Scotland
|
Hi,
I have a requirement to do some quite complicated mapping from an array of input transactions (CWF) to an XML structure in which I need to merge transactions if some details are the same (e.g. date and frequency) and also separate out different transaction types.
I am using a FOR loop to step through the input array. Then for each transaction I need to check the type (a CASE statement) and within that type check whether there is an existing transaction with the same details that I can add the new transaction to (or create a new structure).
I am using a SELECT ... WHERE statement to do this so far, but my question is how I can return something I can use as a REFERENCE from the select statement, i.e. I want to search for something but also return the field reference so that I know exactly where it is. Does that make sense? Can I do this? Can you nudge me in the direction of how please?
Sorry for the rambling question. I think I am currently working on the most complicated msg flow I've ever done...
Thanks,
Vicky |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 6:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
I don't *think* you can get SELECT to return a reference.
Of course, if you remember your relational calculus, you can use a complicated nested SELECT to create the entire Output Tree you want.
Most normal humans, however, would probably build some kind of index of references into the tree, and use those. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vmcgloin |
Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 6:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Knight
Joined: 04 Apr 2002 Posts: 560 Location: Scotland
|
I think I am a normal human. I am doing an Open University course involving relational calculus at the moment so maybe I'll come back to that again, but I think adding an index to the output tree as I build it, then removing it from the final output is a great idea... Thank you very much! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 7:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
I would maybe build a set of indexes into the Input tree as you walk through it, putting the indexes in Environment or Local Environment, and then use those to build the output tree. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|