Author |
Message
|
boaz |
Posted: Tue Aug 06, 2002 11:11 pm Post subject: Cannot run VB MQ client |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 28 May 2002 Posts: 43
|
Hi,
I'm trying to run a MQ client from VB code using MQAX200.dll on W2K to connect to a MQ server on AIX machine.
Code: |
Dim qSession As New MQSession
Dim qMgr As MQQueueManager
qMgr = qSession.AccessQueueManager("queue.manager") |
I set the MQSERVER env. var. (CHANNEL/TCP/ServerIP) on the client.
The java test application (IVTRun) is running against the server but from VB, I get error code 2059, Queue manager not available. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrlinux |
Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2002 10:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 14 Feb 2002 Posts: 1261 Location: Detroit,MI USA
|
Most 2059 errors fall into 3 problems
1) MQSERVER env not set correctly #1 problem
2) Listener not running on queue manager
3) Queue manager is down _________________ Jeff
IBM Certified Developer MQSeries
IBM Certified Specialist MQSeries
IBM Certified Solutions Expert MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
boaz |
Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2002 9:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 28 May 2002 Posts: 43
|
Thanks Jeff!
Since IVTRun is working with the server machine, can I assume that the listener is running and the queue manager is up?
In that case I need to check my MQSERVER env. var?
Boaz |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nimconsult |
Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2002 11:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 22 May 2002 Posts: 268 Location: NIMCONSULT - Belgium
|
One possible solution:
Make sure you set MQSERVER and run the application from the same shell.
If you "SET MQSERVER" in one command prompt, the scope of the variable is the command prompt only, not the entire W2K desktop.
It's one of the classical Windows usage problem I have sometimes seen.
Regards, _________________ Nicolas Maréchal
Senior Architect - Partner
NIMCONSULT Software Architecture Services (Belgium)
http://www.nimconsult.be |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
boaz |
Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2002 11:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 28 May 2002 Posts: 43
|
Thanks but this is not the problem here, Since I put it on the computer Env. Var. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
boaz |
Posted: Thu Aug 08, 2002 2:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 28 May 2002 Posts: 43
|
How come another java client from AIX machine is working with the MQ server?
What is the difference? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nimconsult |
Posted: Thu Aug 08, 2002 2:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 22 May 2002 Posts: 268 Location: NIMCONSULT - Belgium
|
Boaz,
I have found something in the doc ("Using the COM Interface") that might be your problem.
Quote: |
Note: when both the MQSeries server and client are installed on your system MQAX will always run against the server. |
I am very surprised of this statement, but if it is really true it explains your problem: the queue manager "queue.manager" does not exist on your local system. _________________ Nicolas Maréchal
Senior Architect - Partner
NIMCONSULT Software Architecture Services (Belgium)
http://www.nimconsult.be |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
boaz |
Posted: Thu Aug 08, 2002 2:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 28 May 2002 Posts: 43
|
Well,
The client and Server are noth the same machines
In fact, I have another client (java based) running on another client machine and it works prefectly with the server.
What is the difference?
Boaz |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nimconsult |
Posted: Thu Aug 08, 2002 3:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 22 May 2002 Posts: 268 Location: NIMCONSULT - Belgium
|
Yes I understand that the server is located on another machine.
The question is: have you installed the MQ Series server software on the client machine?
If yes, the problem is that the COM interface connects on the machine (in binding mode and not in client mode) and tries to find a local queue manager named "queue.manager" (it does not take the env variable MQSERVER into account) _________________ Nicolas Maréchal
Senior Architect - Partner
NIMCONSULT Software Architecture Services (Belgium)
http://www.nimconsult.be |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
boaz |
Posted: Thu Aug 08, 2002 3:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 28 May 2002 Posts: 43
|
No - Only the client software is instaled. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
boaz |
Posted: Thu Aug 08, 2002 4:00 am Post subject: Found the solution!! |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 28 May 2002 Posts: 43
|
It was only different CCSID - since I'm working form a W2K client to an AIX server, the ccsid.tbl should be changed.
Thanks for the efforts |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
boaz |
Posted: Thu Aug 08, 2002 5:31 am Post subject: Listener |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 28 May 2002 Posts: 43
|
Do you know how do i create a listener - an application that will be trigered when a message entered to the queue? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|