Author |
Message
|
mgorauser |
Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 9:59 pm Post subject: MQ series support for CLOB Data |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 19 Jan 2007 Posts: 3 Location: India
|
Hi,
I'm using MQ Websphere series 5.3 .I need to process a CLOB column data send in MQ message.I' ve to convert MQ message to flat file .
I'm using Pro*C for the same.
Assuming max 100MB of data is present in CLOB .
Will this be supported by MQ series .
What additional info(options/parameters) do I need to provide in the program when I use MQ API calls
MQOPEN,MQGET. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 12:15 am Post subject: Re: MQ series support for CLOB Data |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
mgorauser wrote: |
Assuming max 100MB of data is present in CLOB .
Will this be supported by MQ series |
Assuming the queue limits have been set correctly by the MQ Administrator on your site as per the System Admin manual
You may need to perform additional work depending on the MQ connection method (direct or client) you elect to use.
mgorauser wrote: |
What additional info(options/parameters) do I need to provide in the program when I use MQ API calls
MQOPEN,MQGET. |
Both calls (and all the others you'll need to use) are fully documented in the Application Programming manuals.
Happy Reading!  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 7:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
Guest
|
A more general response to your question:
MQ transports your application data. It doesn't care about the content of the application data (CLOB, BLOB, transactions, whatever) - with one exception: data conversion.
Data conversion may be required (by your application) when the sending platform and receiving platform have different CCSIDs (character sets) - like ASCII/EBCDIC, for example.
Data conversion is well documented in the Application Programming Guide and Application Programming Reference. There is/are white-paper support pacs that address this, as well. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mvic |
Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 5:36 pm Post subject: Re: MQ series support for CLOB Data |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 09 Mar 2004 Posts: 2080
|
mgorauser wrote: |
What additional info(options/parameters) do I need to provide in the program when I use MQ API calls
MQOPEN,MQGET. |
Look at amqsget0.c for example usage of MQOPEN and MQGET (in the MQ samples in any full MQ installation) also amqsxas0.pc which is an Oracle MQBEGIN sample (available in the samples in an MQ 6.0 installation).
As has alos been said, these API calls are fully documented. Search for MQOPEN at the MQ Docs website, for example. Or use an internet search - that should find what you are looking for. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mgorauser |
Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 3:56 am Post subject: MQ series support for CLOB |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 19 Jan 2007 Posts: 3 Location: India
|
What is the difference between MQ connection method (direct or client).
How can I decide which method I'm using in my program.
Assuming if queue manager is defaulted to support 4 MB,
and if I do not increase queue mgr length,
can I use segmentation in my pro*c application to handle messages upto 100MB or more.
Pl elaborate on this. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 4:11 am Post subject: Re: MQ series support for CLOB |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
mgorauser wrote: |
What is the difference between MQ connection method (direct or client). |
One is a client connection over a network, one is a direct binding to the queue manager. See the Clients manual for more information.
mgorauser wrote: |
How can I decide which method I'm using in my program. |
By checking if the connection referenced by the application is a client or a direct connection. Again, see the Clients manual for detailed information
mgorauser wrote: |
Assuming if queue manager is defaulted to support 4 MB,
and if I do not increase queue mgr length,
can I use segmentation in my pro*c application to handle messages upto 100MB or more. |
Segmentation is fully described in the Application Programming Guide and Reference. If you can use it in this scenarion depends on your requirements and application design. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 10:17 am Post subject: Re: MQ series support for CLOB |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
mgorauser wrote: |
Assuming if queue manager is defaulted to support 4 MB,
and if I do not increase queue mgr length,
can I use segmentation in my pro*c application to handle messages upto 100MB or more.
Pl elaborate on this. |
I seem to remember a discussion, where the conclusion was, in order to use segmentation in a client application, you still have to be able to transmit the complete message to the QM, as the segmentation is done there, not at the client side.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 12:25 am Post subject: Re: MQ series support for CLOB |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
EddieA wrote: |
I seem to remember a discussion, where the conclusion was, in order to use segmentation in a client application, you still have to be able to transmit the complete message to the QM, as the segmentation is done there, not at the client side.
|
I thought that, but couldn't find anything... _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:25 am Post subject: Re: MQ series support for CLOB |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Vitor wrote: |
EddieA wrote: |
I seem to remember a discussion, where the conclusion was, in order to use segmentation in a client application, you still have to be able to transmit the complete message to the QM, as the segmentation is done there, not at the client side.
|
I thought that, but couldn't find anything... |
You can use application segmentation on a client, but doesn't it seem basic that qmgr segmentation would require a client channel large enough for the message? _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|