ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Exception List Missing

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Exception List Missing « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
kirankinnu
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 3:51 pm    Post subject: Exception List Missing Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 12 Jun 2004
Posts: 128
Location: Chicago, IL

I am facing a weired situation. We are trying to handle exceptions in WMB6. When ever an exception occurs in MQinput node, it passes through Failure terminal to another exception handling subflow. In that flow it passes through a compute node to create some Envi Variables.
The subflow looks like this
Input-->Trace1-->Compute-->Trace2-->Output
Whats happening is, In the subflow, before the exception reaches to the Compute node, I could see the exception in Trace1(${ExceptionList}), but once it crosses the Compute, the exception is missing. I am not able to see the exception in Trace 2(${ExceptionList}). Trace file 2 is empty. I even tried setting SET OutputExceptionList = InputExceptionList. But the exception is not getting propagated to Trace2. For Compute Node i am setting the properties of Compute Mode to "ALL". I am even using the CopyEntiremessage() in Compute node. In the compute node, i am not atall performing any operations on exceptions. Do I need to look for anything else. I was working on this for couple of days and couldnt find a solution. And the exception that is occuring to force the message to come to this subflow is MQRC 2110. I would appreciate If someone could guide me with this.

Thank You,
Kiran
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elvis_gn
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 12:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 1905
Location: Dubai

Hi kirankinnu,

When an exception occurs, the message with the exceptionlist is rolled back...for example in your flow, if exception occured at Output, it would return to input...
But the trace files would not have any information of the ExceptionList as it only traces the message in the forward direction and not backward...

kirankinnu wrote:
Whats happening is, In the subflow, before the exception reaches to the Compute node, I could see the exception in Trace1(${ExceptionList}), but once it crosses the Compute, the exception is missing. I am not able to see the exception in Trace 2(${ExceptionList}).
Where was the exception thrown ? I would think it was at Output as you got a MQRC 2110 also...

You will not get a trace, unless you connect the failure of the Input node and then use a trace node there.

Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
kirankinnu
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 5:49 am    Post subject: Let me explain in Clear Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 12 Jun 2004
Posts: 128
Location: Chicago, IL

Let me explain what I am doing Clearly. There are 2 flows. The Main Flow will look like this

--> Subflow1
|
Mqinput --> Trycatch --> Compute --> Mqoutput
|
--> Subflow1

If any error occurs in Mqinput only will go to Subflow1. The error is occuring in Mqinput, I know the reason, I am not setting the MQSTR while putting the message. The error i am getting is 2110. If I set the MQSTR i am not getting the error.

SO when a 2110 error occurs, it will go to Subflow1. The Subflow1 will look like this

Input --> Trace1 --> Compute --> Trace2 --> Output

I think you can add my previous explanation to this. In trace1 I could see the trace of Exception List, but in Trace2 the Exception List is missing. I will try adding a failure node to Copute in Subflow1 and check If I catch anything. I would appreciate If you could add any more inputs to this.

Thanks
Kiran
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kirankinnu
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 8:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 12 Jun 2004
Posts: 128
Location: Chicago, IL

I did made these changes and observed this. I just took a simple flow like this

(Failure Terminal) --> Trace1 --> Compute2 --> Trace2 --> Mqoutput
|
Mqinput --> Trycatch --> Compute --> Mqoutput


Once I place a message in mqinput without MQSTR, it goes to Failure terminal and i could see the 2110 error in Trace 1, In the compute node2, I am just doing a copyentire message() and passing it on to Trace2. In Trace 2, the exception list is missing. If this is of any help, the broker is on Aix and I am trying to put the message using RFHUTIL. I could see that no error is getting raised in Compute2. I would appreciate any inputs. I guess this has something to do with Encoding and CCSID.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fat_tony
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 02 Dec 2006
Posts: 15

This may not be a solution to your problem, but what happens if you specify 'Exception and LocalEnvironment' rather than 'All' in the Compute node properties?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TonyD
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 540
Location: New Zealand

Strange that you have this problem as I have just had exactly the same, with the ExceptionList disappearing in a downstream Compute node. I suspect that the second Compute node tries to pass its own ExceptionList if you use 'Exception and Message', which is empty. I got around the problem by specifying:

Code:

SET OutputExceptionList = InputExceptionList;


:in the second Compute node, and this works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
kirankinnu
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 12 Jun 2004
Posts: 128
Location: Chicago, IL

Thanks Guys,
It is working now with setting the above statement. But still wondering why we have to do it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kirani
PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 05 Sep 2001
Posts: 3779
Location: Torrance, CA, USA

I don't think you will need above statement if you set your compute mode to "Message" only. By setting it to "Message And Exception" you are telling the node that you will be preapring/updating Message Tree and Exception Tree. In that case you will have to copy the Exception Tree from the input.
_________________
Kiran


IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TonyD
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 540
Location: New Zealand

Out of interest I checked this ... Kirani is quite right. If you want to pass an ExceptionList through a downstream (from where the exception was generated) Compute node, don't specify 'Message and Exception'!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
wschutz
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

I think the doc is pretty explicit on this issue:

http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmbhelp/v6r0m0/topic/com.ibm.etools.mft.doc/ac04660_.htm#ac04660_mode
_________________
-wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Exception List Missing
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.