Author |
Message
|
niraj.tayade |
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 3:49 am Post subject: Which Reason Codes are frequently thrown by MQSeries? |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 24 Jul 2006 Posts: 6 Location: Pune
|
Hi to all
1)I want a list of reason codes which is normaly thrown by Mqseries when we open the queue.
2)I want a list of reason codes which is normaly thrown by Mqseries when we put the message in queue.
3)I want a list of reason codes which is normaly thrown by Mqseries when we get the message from the queue.
Thanks In Advanced _________________ Regards
Niraj Tayade
Software Developer
Xite etc Software Pvt.Ltd.
Pune,India |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
markt |
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 3:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 14 May 2002 Posts: 508
|
Try reading the documentation. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 3:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
If it's all been done right it doesn't throw any.......
You'll find a complete list in the Application Programming Reference for each of the calls you describe. IMHO the common ones are:
Code - Explanation
============
2058 - You Can't Spell The Queue Manager Name Right
2059 - You Can't Get To That Queue Manager From Here
2085 - You Can't Spell The Queue Name Right
2035 - You Can't Do That
2033 - This Queue Is Empty (Or Might As Well Be)
(The last is really common and is often not treated as an error!)
Enjoy the book  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mvic |
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 4:02 am Post subject: Re: Which Reason Codes are frequently thrown by MQSeries? |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 09 Mar 2004 Posts: 2080
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 5:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
For MQ client connected applications, it's very important to correctly handle rc 2009.
These are the ones I tell our developers to think about handling (all others should cause a fatal exception).
2033,2009,2119,2080,2079,2016,2051,2059,2162 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Toronto_MQ |
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 7:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 10 Jul 2002 Posts: 263 Location: read my name
|
Don't forget 2018 and 2019 for those client connections!!
Cheers
Steve |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 5:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
Vitor wrote: |
If it's all been done right it doesn't throw any.......
|
It ALWAYS throws a RC.  _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 11:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
PeterPotkay wrote: |
It ALWAYS throws a RC.  |
Well, yes, alright, good point ....  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ccfoo242 |
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 10:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 31 Jan 2006 Posts: 7
|
zpat wrote: |
For MQ client connected applications, it's very important to correctly handle rc 2009.
These are the ones I tell our developers to think about handling (all others should cause a fatal exception).
2033,2009,2119,2080,2079,2016,2051,2059,2162 |
So how should 2009 be handled? I get that from my desktop sometimes when connecting to a QM through our proxy server. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 10:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
How should a 2009 be handled?
It depends on what the application needs.
Usually, most people would attempt to reconnect a few times and then give up.
But if the application only needs MQ for a secondary line of processing, then the app could easily just ignore the 2009 and continue what it's doing. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 11:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
If the MQ application is an unattended server, I would retry the MQ client connection at 30 second intervals after rc 2009, more or less indefinitely.
Quite often a queue manager is failed over, rebooted, upgraded or whatever and the dependent application servers should keep re-trying their connection until it's back up again. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 3:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
zpat wrote: |
If the MQ application is an unattended server, I would retry the MQ client connection at 30 second intervals after rc 2009, more or less indefinitely.
Quite often a queue manager is failed over, rebooted, upgraded or whatever and the dependent application servers should keep re-trying their connection until it's back up again. |
Just be aware that you may get forcibly locked out if there is a network problem as this way the number of available channels disappears real fast... _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 11:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
All of our many MQ applications retry like this and we have never had the problem you mention.
If you can't connect then you don't get assigned a client channel. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ccfoo242 |
Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 31 Jan 2006 Posts: 7
|
I see 2009 in our store locations a lot...but like you said, zpat, it retries indefinitely to reconnect.
As for my workstation, I think I've got some funky proxy server problem. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 3:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
zpat wrote: |
All of our many MQ applications retry like this and we have never had the problem you mention.
If you can't connect then you don't get assigned a client channel. |
We have had network disturbances where you can connect but get disconnected within seconds. Thus open orphaned connections on the server. Going out of control fast.
Had to force shutdown the channel until the network problem was solved. The rest of the channels were fine but starved for no more channels available... _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|