Author |
Message
|
arw01 |
Posted: Fri Jun 28, 2002 7:04 am Post subject: Java based program stops processing |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 28 Jun 2002 Posts: 6 Location: Atlanta
|
I am running a java based program from a machine with an mq client , db2 client installed . The java program connects and processes messages from the queue and updates database, but consistently stops processing after working on a few messages first stop was after 36 messages, second after 25 now the program is down to processing 1 message before an error . After i do a destructive get of 1 message rom the queue the process resumes but at this point only processses 1 msg before failure .
The java program only gives information of sql error not able to execute stored procedures. I understand that java does its own work with buffers ect. Paging space on all boxes seems fine .. has anyone seen this before. Any Help would be appreciated
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bduncan |
Posted: Fri Jun 28, 2002 7:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 11 Apr 2001 Posts: 1554 Location: Silicon Valley
|
Are you using syncpoint? And what is the average size of a message? _________________ Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
arw01 |
Posted: Fri Jun 28, 2002 10:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 28 Jun 2002 Posts: 6 Location: Atlanta
|
I am not sure about syncpoint , Outside developement has created the java program. I would assume I would have to ask them?
Browsing the message it looks like we have a msg length
msg length - 1321 bytes. Could it be that some buffers are full in MQ? Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Naftalanja |
Posted: Fri Jun 28, 2002 4:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 30 Jan 2002 Posts: 63 Location: Los Angeles
|
could you please post the stack trace of java ??? that way i can be more helpfull to you. The msg length wot you have shoudn't matter. bye |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bduncan |
Posted: Fri Jun 28, 2002 9:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 11 Apr 2001 Posts: 1554 Location: Silicon Valley
|
Well, since the messages are small, it probably isn't a buffer issue. However, if you are using syncpoint, and the code isn't commiting the units of work properly, that could explain why your application is dying. Since maintaining a growing unit of work uses lots of resources, at a certain point, if you keep putting or getting messages in the same unit of work without committing or rolling it back, then you will run out of resources and the application will go belly-up. _________________ Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
arw01 |
Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2002 11:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 28 Jun 2002 Posts: 6 Location: Atlanta
|
This is the repeated message when it fails.....
on Jul 01 12:50:37 EDT 2002 "System Exception in: OrganizationHandler.UpdateDB()
REASON: com.systemcorp.pbfs.pmoc.PMOCCriticalException: PMOC exception ID=APPL3003"
Mon Jul 01 12:53:27 EDT 2002 "Failed to execute SQL statement: { CALL SP_U_FS_ORG(null, '897.IBM.07.
#X', 'AREA XX UNKWN DEPARTMENTS ', '897.IBM.AXX', 48, 'O', 0, 'PMO_SUPERVISOR')}
In: OrganizationHandler.UpdateDB()
After adjusting some of the tablespaces in db2 i was able to get the script to process about 14 messages more since some of the tablspaces were full. However , it now back to failing again.. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bduncan |
Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2002 12:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 11 Apr 2001 Posts: 1554 Location: Silicon Valley
|
It sounds like it is either a problem with DB2, or some issue with syncpoint (assuming you are using XA resource coordination with DB2). Have you looked at the logs for DB2 to see why the SQL statement is failing? _________________ Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
arw01 |
Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2002 1:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 28 Jun 2002 Posts: 6 Location: Atlanta
|
The errors that were listed in DB2 were related to tablespaces being full, i have increased the tablespaces sizes , so now those errors do not occur, but the java app is still having problems processing. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|