Author |
Message
|
TJo |
Posted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 4:31 am Post subject: Browsing only one message with Q (ma01) |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 26 Jul 2004 Posts: 18 Location: Gothenburg Sweden
|
Hi everyone.
Anyone know how to browse only one message (the first) on a queue with the Q (ma01) program? As of now I get all the messages in one go.
I need to browse the first and nothing but the first message, to examine some of it's MQMD info in a script. Using the MQI is unfortunately not an option at the moment. Browsing using the id of the message would do the trick, but then I need to implement some future telling subroutines to get it. Sounds tricky.
I have been reading the help text back and forth without getting it right. Is it at all possible, or am I just chasing the wind here?
/TJo _________________ "Always code as if the guy who ends up maintaining your code will be
a violent psychopath who knows where you live." --Martin Golding |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sirsi |
Posted: Mon May 01, 2006 1:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Disciple
Joined: 11 Mar 2005 Posts: 177
|
you can use support pack MO03 to get 'n' number of messages with -r option |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Tibor |
Posted: Tue May 02, 2006 4:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 20 May 2001 Posts: 1033 Location: Hungary
|
A snippet of the help:
Code: |
-L The maximum number of messages to process. |
BUT this supportpack contents binaries on different version: 4.4 (aix, windows) and 4.3 (solaris, hpux, linux) ... and only the v4.4 support this command-line parameter. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TJo |
Posted: Wed May 03, 2006 1:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 26 Jul 2004 Posts: 18 Location: Gothenburg Sweden
|
Just tried it on my linux testbox and with r#1 it gives me the data that I want, namely the put time and date of the first message, without giving me all the messages.
Never thought about that support pack. Thanks alot.
However, this also mean that I have to install yet another binary on multiple systems, and keep track of any upgrades, etc.
Obviously, it would be nice if I did not have to do that. So my original question still stands. So if anyone got an answer I would appreciate a comment.  _________________ "Always code as if the guy who ends up maintaining your code will be
a violent psychopath who knows where you live." --Martin Golding |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Tibor |
Posted: Wed May 03, 2006 3:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 20 May 2001 Posts: 1033 Location: Hungary
|
You can use the client version if this program (qloadc) after setting the client connections for qmgrs. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TJo |
Posted: Wed May 03, 2006 3:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 26 Jul 2004 Posts: 18 Location: Gothenburg Sweden
|
True. But will not help in this case as I have to run locally on each node.
The program in question is a monitor program that is to, among a lot of other things, check for how long the first message on queue has been there. Hence the need to get the put date and time. The message in itself is not interesting in this case. _________________ "Always code as if the guy who ends up maintaining your code will be
a violent psychopath who knows where you live." --Martin Golding |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Wed May 03, 2006 9:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Quote: |
check for how long the first message on queue has been there |
How do you know that the 1st message is the oldest. What about Priority.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TJo |
Posted: Wed May 03, 2006 10:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 26 Jul 2004 Posts: 18 Location: Gothenburg Sweden
|
As for the current situation and time there are no priority messages from any of the applications. Funny come to think of it.
Anyhow, is it not true that higher priority messages are put up front in the queue? It cannot be that the receiving side have to look for if there are any messages with higher priority then the first one on the queue. Sounds awkward. Will check it tomorrow if I get the time. To late and to tired now. Half past 8 here now. PM that is.  _________________ "Always code as if the guy who ends up maintaining your code will be
a violent psychopath who knows where you live." --Martin Golding |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kevinf2349 |
Posted: Wed May 03, 2006 10:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 28 Feb 2003 Posts: 1311 Location: USA
|
Quote: |
Anyhow, is it not true that higher priority messages are put up front in the queue? |
It depends what is the delivery sequence setting for the queue?  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TJo |
Posted: Thu May 04, 2006 1:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 26 Jul 2004 Posts: 18 Location: Gothenburg Sweden
|
Hmm. Yes. But that should only affect how the messages are presented by the queue manager to the application. So if the application is just making a GET without any tricks like using ids they are getting the message that the monitor would look at as well.
Hmm(ver2). Which means it might be a good idea to keep an eye out for messages with non standard priorities. And then check for any non prioritized messages getting old. Or some such. Did not thought about that earlier. Thanks for pointing it out.  _________________ "Always code as if the guy who ends up maintaining your code will be
a violent psychopath who knows where you live." --Martin Golding |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|