Author |
Message
|
careboy |
Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 2:26 am Post subject: Load Balancing with MQ Cluster |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 15 Jan 2006 Posts: 10
|
Hi,
A newbie question.
I have 3 queue managers which are clustered in a SUN SOLARIS env (mq 5.3 csd10). QM1 and QM2 are residing on the same SUN SOLARIS server and QM3 is residing on a separate SUN SOLARIS server.
Both QM2 and QM3 have the same clustered QAlias (ABC.REQ.UPD.01).
I have tried sending multiple messages to ABC.REQ.UPD.01. All the messages ends up in QM2.
Question:
1. As the ABC.REQ.UPD.01 Queue is clustered, shouldn't some of the messages end up in both QM2 and QM3? (load balanced algorithm)
2. QM3 has a process which polls the clustered q heavily. would this be a reason why all the messages are sent to QM2 instead?
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 3:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Hi,
Some possible explainations:
Which queue manager are you sending the messages from? If the message is PUT from a queue manager which has a local copy of the queue (like QM2) the message will always go there;
Is the PUT option BIND_ON_OPEN? In this case, target queue instance is fixed by the open. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
HubertKleinmanns |
Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Shaman
Joined: 24 Feb 2004 Posts: 732 Location: Germany
|
Do you specifiy a QMgr name in the PUT calle? _________________ Regards
Hubert |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 11:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
HubertKleinmanns wrote: |
Do you specifiy a QMgr name in the PUT calle? |
Technically, the MQOPEN call is where the destination is locked in for clustering if you specify a destination QM. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
HubertKleinmanns |
Posted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Shaman
Joined: 24 Feb 2004 Posts: 732 Location: Germany
|
PeterPotkay wrote: |
HubertKleinmanns wrote: |
Do you specifiy a QMgr name in the PUT calle? |
Technically, the MQOPEN call is where the destination is locked in for clustering if you specify a destination QM. |
careboy,
of course Peter is right. So did you specify the ObjectQMgr in the MQOPEN call? _________________ Regards
Hubert |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|