Author |
Message
|
jeannie |
Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 7:00 pm Post subject: trying to use activex |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 10 Jan 2006 Posts: 18
|
I'm trying to "find" the activex component. I can see the classes in the registry. I installed mqax200.dll via regsvr32. I've read reams of IBM docs including "using the component object model" and sections of the programmers guide and reference. The component will not show up in the list of installed activex components on a win2k machine with MQseries client 5.3 installed. Is there another file that needs to be registered?
.
I'm using visual dbase and have to declare the class id from this list before I can access the classes. No where can I find the name of the file/component/whatever that is used for MQAX. Does anybody have any ideas?
Any help would be appreciated. I would like to go this route before having to learn enough VB6 or C++ to get messages from a queue and concatenate them into a usable xml file.
I'm RTFM'd to death
-jeannie |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jeannie |
Posted: Sat Feb 11, 2006 7:09 am Post subject: is there an OCX activex component for mq? |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 10 Jan 2006 Posts: 18
|
IOW, is there an OCX for mq? I think not  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sat Feb 11, 2006 6:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
You are using Visual dBase.
This means that you should be able to declare the MQ Client libraries as External (C types) and prototype the function calls. (see programer's manual both Visual dBase and MQ)
Than it is a simple manner to call these prototyped functions
Lots of work in perspective...
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jeannie |
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 7:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 10 Jan 2006 Posts: 18
|
ah yes, simple, maybe I looked at prototyping everything for using the dll. I was hoping for a true activex so that I don't have to do this. Frankly, I think VB will be easier than doing that. I looked at the prototypes that had been set up for a delphi app and it looked daunting
One question, please. Each _function_ is prototyped, but then is every constant just set up with #include?
Thank you for your response,
jeannie |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 7:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Maybe you should look at the .NET assembly instead of the MQAX?
Also, maybe VisualDBase has a tool for creating the includes/etc. from a dll or lib? _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jeannie |
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 8:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 10 Jan 2006 Posts: 18
|
oh boy, would but that be the case - not so
I've given up that route and will call a vb6 routine from visual dbase to get the msgs from the queue and then do the rest of the work. The puts are easy - I'll use q.exe. I'd use q for the gets, but I have to capture seqmented messages and concatenate them. ( I do hope options MQGMO_LOGICAL_ORDER + MQGMO_ALL_MSGS_AVAILABLE, etc ... will do that for me)
Thanks for the thoughts.
-jeannie |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 10:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
jeannie wrote: |
oh boy, would but that be the case - not so |
I believe you need to include the C .h headers and then specify the dll and finally prototype the function as external.
In fact there is only a very limited set of functions you need to prototype...
jeannie wrote: |
I've given up that route and will call a vb6 routine from visual dbase to get the msgs from the queue and then do the rest of the work. The puts are easy - I'll use q.exe. I'd use q for the gets, but I have to capture seqmented messages and concatenate them. ( I do hope options MQGMO_LOGICAL_ORDER + MQGMO_ALL_MSGS_AVAILABLE, etc ... will do that for me)
Thanks for the thoughts.
-jeannie |
Can't help you much with the VB route. If you lean that way I would have used the .NET db driver (I believe it works well with dbase) and gone the full .NET route....
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|