Author |
Message
|
lkathir |
Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:35 pm Post subject: Monitoring Queue Depth |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 11 Jan 2006 Posts: 5
|
Hi,
I am in the process of integrating monitoring solution for MqSeries with HP Openview. I have to monitor the Queue Depth in % for Dead Letter Queue, Transmit Queue and Cluster Transmit Queue - I have the command to run to check the current depth, how/where do I get the Maximum Allowed Depth, so that I can calculate in %?
PS: I am Tools person and dont know anything about MQSeries.
Thanks for any help.
-Kathir |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MQGuy2000 |
Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 1:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 20 Jul 2003 Posts: 131
|
You may have to contact ur MQ Admin for the mqx queue depth. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 1:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
contact admin is the official supplier of MQ Monitoring solutions for HPOpenView.
If you really need MQ Monitoring, you should probably look into their Contact Admin solution.
You can get the Max Allowed Queue Depth for a particular queue with
Code: |
echo "dis q(<q name>) maxdepth"|runmqsc <qmgr name>) |
But the output may need some tweaking with awk or something to be usable from a script.
Note, also, that MAXDEPTH isn't dynamic and doesn't change very often. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lkathir |
Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 2:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 11 Jan 2006 Posts: 5
|
Jefflowrey,
Thanks a lot. This is exactly I was looking for. I used this to get the max and current depth..
echo "display qlocal(qmgrname) [<MAX|CUR>]DEPTH" | su - mqm -c "runmqsc <qmgrname>" | grep QUEUE | awk '{print $2}' | sed 's/[()]/:/g' | awk -F: '{print $2}'
Thanks again.
-Kathir |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bschelst |
Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 30 May 2004 Posts: 16
|
I'm using the same in our environment.
cheap..and it works like it should be...never failed
It doesn't need to be expensive all the time you know  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
veturir |
Posted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 6:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 20 Jan 2006 Posts: 5
|
lkathir wrote: |
Jefflowrey,
Thanks a lot. This is exactly I was looking for. I used this to get the max and current depth..
echo "display qlocal(qmgrname) [<MAX|CUR>]DEPTH" | su - mqm -c "runmqsc <qmgrname>" | grep QUEUE | awk '{print $2}' | sed 's/[()]/:/g' | awk -F: '{print $2}'
Thanks again.
-Kathir |
dis is pretty gud, even im lookin for somthing like dis. thanks lkathir. _________________ veturir |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|