Author |
Message
|
frankstr |
Posted: Fri May 24, 2002 3:45 am Post subject: Using JMS with a Cluster: How to send "BIND_NOT_FIXED&q |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 24 May 2002 Posts: 2
|
Hi,
those who know both, JMS and Clustering, perhaps understand it from the subjectline:
sending with a JMS queuesender to a clusterqueue i wish to do some load balancing or at least be sure that other queuemanagers hosting the tagetqueue will take over. This requires the open-option "BIND_NOT_FIXED" to be set on MQOPEN-Calls.
Is it possible to have the same with JMS? If so - i hope so -, how?
Thanks,
Frank |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kolban |
Posted: Fri May 24, 2002 3:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 22 May 2001 Posts: 1072 Location: Fort Worth, TX, USA
|
I am thinking this must be possible. Since Clustering concepts are part of the MQ implementation and transparent to the JMS spec, if I were to implement such, I would make this an attribute of the Queue managed object defined and modified by the JMSAdmin tooling. Unfortunately, I could not find such.
My next guess, although not tested, would be that on the real, MQSeries queue definition, you have the opportunity to specify a default queue open binding. The default is OPEN but can be changed to NOTFIXED.
e.g.
from runmqsc
alter ql(MY_QUEUE) defbind(NOTFIXED)
Please post back what you find. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
frankstr |
Posted: Fri May 24, 2002 4:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 24 May 2002 Posts: 2
|
What a prompt response:-)
Well, i am currently trying the second solution, changing the queue defs... and will report what i find out. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
pjacob |
Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2003 5:02 pm Post subject: Results |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 29 Jul 2002 Posts: 4 Location: San Francsico
|
I was currently searching for the results of programmatically using JMS & MQ clustering and setting a BIND_NOT_FIXED type of Open Option. I run up short of a solution, so I looked into just setting the default behavior. Seems like that is the only way to make round robining /workload balancing work correctly under JMS.
-Pritish _________________ Sr. Architect, PMI Group |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bower5932 |
Posted: Fri Jun 06, 2003 10:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Aug 2001 Posts: 3023 Location: Dallas, TX, USA
|
From the Using Java manual (p196 for me):
Quote: |
Note: When sending a message to a cluster, leave the Queue Manager field in the JMS Queue object blank. This enables an MQOPEN to be performed in BIND_NOT_FIXED mode, which allows the queue manager to be determined. Otherwise an exception is returned reporting that the queue object cannot be found. This applies when using JNDI or defining queues at runtime.
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
pjacob |
Posted: Fri Jun 06, 2003 12:57 pm Post subject: version difference maybe? |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 29 Jul 2002 Posts: 4 Location: San Francsico
|
Interesting... I didn't explain my environment: MQ 5.1 on NT5, Solaris, OS/400. I am guessing in a newer version of MQ libraries the quote above is true.
i.e. my doc version doesn't have the reference text above;
Using Java, Sixth edition (September 2000)
This edition applies to MQSeries classes for Java Version 5.1.2 and MQSeries classes for Java Message Service (JMS) Version 1.1 on MQSeres for Windows NT® Version 5 Release 1
Which MQ version this JMS openqueue behavior is quoted above?
Pritish Jacob
Sr. Architect, PMI Group _________________ Sr. Architect, PMI Group |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Rclements |
Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2003 9:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 20 Jun 2002 Posts: 18
|
Found it in my docs..
Redbook # SC34-6066-01
Second Edition (Oct 2002)
Applies to Websphere MQ V5.3 .... (and MQ classes for Java 5.3)
ricardo |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|