Author |
Message
|
klamerus |
Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:23 pm Post subject: Large message not working |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 05 Jul 2004 Posts: 199 Location: Detroit, MI
|
We're using MQs to route some documents around. In general, these are < 100 KB each, but occasionally a file can get really large (like a PCL or PS print file).
We just had one of these "blow out" the default 4 MB message limit, so we were going to look at the root cause and at the same time set the limit up to 10 MB. We do expect we may get these from time to time (and all the work on the messages is on the same box regardless).
We've set the queue manager limit to 10 MB (10,000,000 bytes) and the same for the queue in question, but when we try to run a test and put a file that's about 6.5 MB on the queue we get a 2102 message back.
Is there another parameter we need to set somewhere? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastianhirt |
Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yatiri
Joined: 07 Jun 2004 Posts: 620 Location: Germany
|
Just for the sake...
Code: |
2102 (X'0836')MQRC_RESOURCE_PROBLEM
Explanation:
There are insufficient system resources to complete the call successfully.
Completion Code:
MQCC_FAILED
Programmer Response:
Run the application when the machine is less heavily loaded.
On z/OS, check the operator console for messages that may provide additional information.
On HP OpenVMS, OS/2, i5/OS, Compaq NonStop Kernel, and UNIX systems, consult the FFST record to obtain more detail about the problem.
|
Any FFST's? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bbburson |
Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 1:55 pm Post subject: Re: Large message not working |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 06 Jan 2004 Posts: 378 Location: Nowhere near a queue manager
|
klamerus wrote: |
We've set the queue manager limit to 10 MB (10,000,000 bytes) and the same for the queue in question, but when we try to run a test and put a file that's about 6.5 MB on the queue we get a 2102 message back. |
Are you using client connections to get to the queue manager? If so, your SVRCONN channel has to be changed to accept larger messages (and CLNTCONNs if you use the channel table to derive your connection parameters). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
klamerus |
Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 3:11 pm Post subject: Maybe |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 05 Jul 2004 Posts: 199 Location: Detroit, MI
|
Hmmm,
We'll I'm doing the current testing from my laptop to an MQ installation on my laptop, so I would think that I'm not using client connections. I'll take a look.
I don't know what a FFST is. This is all Windows. Is that something unique to another platform.
I would be surprised (but not shocked) if it was my laptop, which has 2 GB of RAM in it. The message is big, but it's not that big. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kevinf2349 |
Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 3:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 28 Feb 2003 Posts: 1311 Location: USA
|
You did remember the transmission queue and channel defs too..right? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastianhirt |
Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 3:20 pm Post subject: Re: Maybe |
|
|
Yatiri
Joined: 07 Jun 2004 Posts: 620 Location: Germany
|
klamerus wrote: |
I don't know what a FFST is. This is all Windows. Is that something unique to another platform.
|
FFST= First Failure Support Technology. Or just the fancy word for a fdc file.
kevin,
if it was the channel defs, wouldn't you get some message to big for channel rather then a 2102? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kevinf2349 |
Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 3:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 28 Feb 2003 Posts: 1311 Location: USA
|
Quote: |
kevin,
if it was the channel defs, wouldn't you get some message to big for channel rather then a 2102? |
Hmmmm probably would  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 10:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Quote: |
FFST= First Failure Support Technology. Or just the fancy word for a fdc file |
And you find them in either <MQ Install Dir>\errors or <MQ Install dir>\qmgrs\<QMGR Name>\errors.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mr Butcher |
Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 1:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 23 May 2005 Posts: 1716
|
how is your queuemanager logging settings? do you have enough logs to hold the message data? especially when using circular and the defaults with 3 primary and 2 secondary you have 5mb logspace, nd that is not enough to hold a 6.5 mb (persistent?) message. _________________ Regards, Butcher |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JT |
Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 6:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 27 Mar 2003 Posts: 1564 Location: Hartford, CT.
|
Quote: |
......when we try to run a test and put a file |
By what means ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 8:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
When you go beyond 4MB, check the size of transmit queues, sender channels, receiver channels, svrconn channels, client channel table, dead letter queues - as well as the application queues and queue manager limit. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RichA |
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 9:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 14 Mar 2002 Posts: 102
|
My money's on the log files, the others would return a different error. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|