ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Load balancing

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Load balancing « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
mq_crazy
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 8:00 am    Post subject: Load balancing Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 295

I have this two servers MQ clustered and the application putting messages are load balanced between the queue that is defined on the two server queue managers, but the issue is the server1 has lot of process load almost 90-100% and server 2 has load of just below 10%. How can i not only just round robin the messages but also check their process level and distribute accordingly??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bower5932
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Aug 2001
Posts: 3023
Location: Dallas, TX, USA

WMQ v6 has added some options to the clustering to try and distribute messages a little better based on the machine's capability. What version of WMQ are you using?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
wschutz
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

Quote:
How can i not only just round robin the messages but also check their process level and distribute accordingly??
What bower says is true, but the new features do not do workload management, that is, with V6 you can say: send 2 times more messages to Machine A than Machine B because machine A can process them twice as fast, but there is no feedback mechanism incase Machine A gets a backlog.

For something like that, you'd need to write your own workload management exit (not easy!).
_________________
-wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
markt
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 14 May 2002
Posts: 508

You wouldn't necessarily have to write a WLM exit, as you could have a program on each machine that does something like looking how busy it is and then issuing the appropriate MQSC command to change the weighting of the qmgr/channel.

But by the time you've done that, and the update has been distributed to the sending machine, then the load has probably changed.

If the load is constantly so different between the two boxes, then using the V6 cluster weighting values as static attributes would be sufficient.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wschutz
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

Quote:
You wouldn't necessarily have to write a WLM exit, as you could have a program on each machine that does something like looking how busy it is and then issuing the appropriate MQSC command to change the weighting of the qmgr/channel.

So no restart of the channel would be necessary for the changed values to take effect?
_________________
-wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
mq_crazy
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 295

Thanks for the replies guys. We are using MQ5.3 on win 2003 server. I don't think we are in a position to upgrade to 6.0 now, so is there any way in the 5.3 version to get this resolved?? Also we have the server1 max uncommitted mesages parameter set as 3 times more than server2, would that effect that???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wschutz
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

With V5.3, your only choice is a workload mgmt exit.

Max uncommitted msgs only takes effect if your application has that many messages in a single unit of work, in which case it'll get an error. I don't think it will affect you unless that happens.
_________________
-wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
mq_crazy
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 295

Thanks wshutz for the answer. I am not good at writing those. Do you recommend any third party that sell these???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr Butcher
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 23 May 2005
Posts: 1716

it is not only the number of queues that the default workload mechanism takes into account when it assigns the messages to the target queues, but also the number of channels to the queues.

define a second cluster receiver channel on the server that should get more data, now server A has 1 channel and server B has 2 channels, server A will get 1 message, server B will get 2 messages.
_________________
Regards, Butcher
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hopsala
PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2005 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guardian

Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 960

mq_crazy wrote:
Thanks wshutz for the answer. I am not good at writing those. Do you recommend any third party that sell these???

You have three options:

1. Search the internet for samples (I haven't been able to find one personally, but I just searched for 2 min)

2. Maybe someone here will be willing to give you a sample code.

3. As for buying options - You could approach Roger (user RogerLacroix - see the CapitalWare forum) - He has been fiddling around with WMQ exits for quite some time, possibly with the wlm exit as well, and might be interested to write/supply one for you. He knows his stuff, so he would be a very good vendor choice. (ps- I have no ulterior motive here)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EddieA
PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2005 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 28 Jun 2001
Posts: 2453
Location: Los Angeles

There's also a SupportPac that might give you a head start.

But how is the server where the messages are put going to the the current workload of the recipient servers.

Cheers,
_________________
Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2005 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7722

Do you really care that Server1's CPU is high? Is the Input queue on Server1 staying at zero like the Input queue on Server2? If it is, then don't try and solve a server's performance problems with MQ.

If the queue is backing up on Server1, then the Workload Exit only needs to check the queue depths, rather the CPU utilization, which is a lot easier. BUT, guess why the base cluster workload algorithim doesn't check destination q depths? Because it kills the performace of the MQ cluster round robining (it would constantly be waiting for a list of all the q depths before making the next decision).

Sounds to me like you should be asking, why is Server1's CPU so high, and fix that problem, instead of going down this path.
_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Load balancing
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.