Author |
Message
|
amita09 |
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 3:05 am Post subject: Connecting to CICS via java |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 13 Oct 2005 Posts: 24
|
Can someone tell what are the different ways that I can connect to CICS from java.
I know of the following
1) JAVA- > MQ --> MQ-CICS Bridge-->CICS Adapter->CICS transaction
2) Java-> CICS Transaction Gateway-->CICS Transaction
what are the other ways of communication to CICS from a Java app running inside Websphere App Server ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 3:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
You can use the CTG:
http://www-306.ibm.com/software/htp/cics/ctg/
Also, you can go "directly" into CICS (ie, have your CICS programs do the MQGET/PUTS ) _________________ -wayne
Last edited by wschutz on Wed Oct 26, 2005 5:58 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 3:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
I think amita09 mentioned both of those options already...
I don't know of any other options, other than the bad one of writing your own version of the CTG. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 5:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Quote: |
I think amita09 mentioned both of those options already...
|
I guess he did ... Next time, I'll finish my first cup-o-coffee before posting  _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
javagate |
Posted: Fri Oct 28, 2005 11:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 15 Nov 2004 Posts: 159
|
I was thinking and woundering if on z/OS one could use a 'USS Crontab' to get to MQ/CICS by way of using the MQSeries JMS feature.
i.e... use JMS to connect to a queue-manager that in return is connected to a kicks region. Sounds like it might work. _________________ WebSphere Application Server 7.0 z/OS &
MQ 6.0. I work with WebSphere in the real world not in some IBM lab. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
javagate |
Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2005 9:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 15 Nov 2004 Posts: 159
|
... With WebSphere Message Broker and CICS/TS 3.1 you can open comm-area from inside the broker directly to CICS without the CTG or putting a msg on a queue. Of couse you need WebSphere ESB (a.k.a JMS feature). and you can do it all with J2EE. Fun stuff. _________________ WebSphere Application Server 7.0 z/OS &
MQ 6.0. I work with WebSphere in the real world not in some IBM lab. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
javagate wrote: |
... With WebSphere Message Broker and CICS/TS 3.1 you can open comm-area from inside the broker directly to CICS without the CTG or putting a msg on a queue. Of couse you need WebSphere ESB (a.k.a JMS feature). and you can do it all with J2EE. Fun stuff. |
Why would you think that JMS would not involve putting a message on a queue? _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
jefflowrey wrote: |
javagate wrote: |
... With WebSphere Message Broker and CICS/TS 3.1 you can open comm-area from inside the broker directly to CICS without the CTG or putting a msg on a queue. Of couse you need WebSphere ESB (a.k.a JMS feature). and you can do it all with J2EE. Fun stuff. |
Why would you think that JMS would not involve putting a message on a queue? |
I think he is alluding to the ESB and the CICS Transaction Gateway resource adapter....
Put directly CICS on the ESB....
See my other post for what all comprises the ESB
http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=25299
Enjoy  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2005 2:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
fjb_saper wrote: |
I think he is alluding to the ESB and the CICS Transaction Gateway resource adapter.... |
I think I was aware of that...
I think it still invovles putting a message on a queue, though. Even if it is not an actual WebSphere MQ queue, but merely a logical destination in the ESB.  _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
javagate |
Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2005 5:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 15 Nov 2004 Posts: 159
|
With WebSphere Message Broker (an advanced ESB) and the new version of CICS TS 3.1... From inside WebSphere via an adaptor you can start CICS transactions by opening a commarea.... A MQSeries queue is not needed in this senario. You no longer need to put a message on a queue to start a CICS transaction...
Hey, have fun doing whatever it is you do. _________________ WebSphere Application Server 7.0 z/OS &
MQ 6.0. I work with WebSphere in the real world not in some IBM lab. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|