Author |
Message
|
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 1:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Or if the destination queue is full and there is no DLQ on the dest qmgr.
Than as well the channel gets stopped
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
cs97jb |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 1:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Feb 2005 Posts: 20
|
So, if the queue manager on the other end is full and there is no DLQ, the sender queue will stop...but would that not create an entry in the log file? What error would I see? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Anirud |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 1:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Posts: 285 Location: Vermont
|
Your channel definition looks good. I wanted to check the discint value on the channel.
I see that there are two threads running on the same issue. Please continue on this thread. That's the reason you were asked not to post the same question multiple times. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 1:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
Ok, four,... I am only aware of four~~~~ _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 1:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
cs97jb wrote: |
So, if the queue manager on the other end is full and there is no DLQ, the sender queue will stop...but would that not create an entry in the log file? What error would I see? |
Yes it will create an entry in the log, I'm not sure if it would be the notorious AMQ9999 Channel ended abnormally or not though... _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
cs97jb |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 7:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Feb 2005 Posts: 20
|
The only entry i see in the logs for any kind of ending/stopping of the channel is (disregard time):
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
02/03/2005 14:14:28
AMQ9001: Channel program ended normally.
EXPLANATION:
Channel program 'YYY' ended normally.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Does this entry mean that the channel was stopped and if so, by what method?
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Sat Feb 05, 2005 9:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
The message above that one in the log should tell you. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Nigelg |
Posted: Sat Feb 05, 2005 10:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 02 Aug 2004 Posts: 1046
|
Quote: |
Or if the destination queue is full and there is no DLQ on the dest qmgr.
Than as well the channel gets stopped
|
Yes, the channel does stop, but it does not go to STOPPED state, it goes to RETRYING after it has been through PAUSED (RCVR only). See my other posts on this... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
cs97jb |
Posted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 6:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Feb 2005 Posts: 20
|
csmith28,
There are 2 entries that I see that have a ended entry for them:
Entry 1: Me stopping the channel manually.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
02/04/2005 10:38:34
AMQ9528: User requested closure of channel 'XXX'.
EXPLANATION:
The channel is closing because of a request by the user.
ACTION:
None.
----- amqrmssa.c : 2109 -------------------------------------------------------
02/04/2005 10:38:35
AMQ9001: Channel program ended normally.
EXPLANATION:
Channel program 'XXX' ended normally.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Entry 2:
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
01/13/2005 15:48:09
AMQ9545: Disconnect interval expired.
EXPLANATION:
Channel 'XXX' closed because no messages arrived on the
transmission queue within the disconnect interval period.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
01/13/2005 15:48:09
AMQ9001: Channel program ended normally.
EXPLANATION:
Channel program 'XXX' ended normally.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks for all your help. I do know and have an understanding of MQ, it's just these log files are slightly confusing to me. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kevinf2349 |
Posted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 7:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 28 Feb 2003 Posts: 1311 Location: USA
|
There really isn't anything confusing about them. The first pair of entries is saying that a user manually issued a stop command for the channel.
The second pair is saying that no messages have been transmitted for the duration of the disconnect interval (in your case 6000 milliseconds) so MQ is inactivating the channel.
The difference is that in the first case the channel status will be STOPPED and will only be able to be restarted via a START command.
In the second case the channel status will be INACTIVE and the channel can be started again using triggering. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
AlainB |
Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 11:25 pm Post subject: Same problem encountered |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 31 Oct 2002 Posts: 79 Location: Belgium
|
Hi there,
I've got the same problem of "channel XXX is currently not enabled"; I've read all the thread about that, and I don't see where the problem is on my side.
I have 2 sender channels heavily used (and dozen of others also used), they almost never stops by themselve due to non-activity, but the problem appears when the host is rebooted : these 2 channels don't start-up and error log mentions the "channel XXX is currently not enabled" error.
We've already check destinations, to see if DLQ is full or other stuffs like that, but destinations are well and running. We just have to issue a start command under runmqsc and everything goes fit and well, but we would prefer to have the trigger working fine !
The XMITQ are triggered on SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ, but nothing happens, the queues are stopped at queue manager starting ... WHY ? We've compared channels and XMITQ definitions of the 2 ones that are giving problems with others that are fine, and we don't see any differences.
Help welcomed  _________________ Alain Buret
Visit http://www.fosdem.org |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
scottm |
Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 5:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 13 May 2004 Posts: 44 Location: SE Tennessee
|
This really won't help you, but we have the same issues here.
Starting last year, as soon as we upgraded from 5.2 to 5.3, we had some of our channels go from either RUNNING or INACTIVE at the time of a shutdown and reboot to be STOPPED when the qmgr came up.
I know that this should not happen, but it does occasionally. After the upgrade it happened quite frequently (but only on some channels), but now it happened about 3-4 weeks ago for the first time in about 6 months - and it happened on two consecutive qmgr shutdowns. Since then, it's been been acting fine.
It's not something that should happen, and it's not consistent, and I can't put my finger on why it's happening. And in my case, it only happend to some of the receiver channels, never a sender channel.
One thing that did seem to help on a couple of the channels was to delete the channel definition and re-create it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kevinf2349 |
Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 5:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 28 Feb 2003 Posts: 1311 Location: USA
|
Do you issue a stop for the channels before you stop the qmgr? My bet would be that all is well when they are inactive when you restart but if you don't stop the channels and then kick the queue manager out from under then you are potentially going to have these issues. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
scottm |
Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 5:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 13 May 2004 Posts: 44 Location: SE Tennessee
|
In our case, some of the channels were "INACTIVE" at the time of the controlled shutdown, and other times they were "RUNNING".
But, when the qmgr came back up they were "STOPPED". The problem is they are not consistent. I had read somewhere here and on IBM's site about problems like this, but nothing I read seemed to apply. Some of the comments had to do with earlier versions of MQ than 5.3. But for us, it didn't happen until after we upgraded from 5.2 to 5.3. And it happened as soon as we upgraded. But at least now it doesn't happen very often. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kevinf2349 |
Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 6:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 28 Feb 2003 Posts: 1311 Location: USA
|
Scott
What CSD level are you at? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|