Author |
Message
|
quangtv |
Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 11:49 pm Post subject: Starting a queue manager |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 06 Oct 2005 Posts: 1 Location: Viet Nam
|
Hi All!
How i can start a queue manager when it stopped in .NET?
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 3:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
How can you know what a queue manager is without knowing how to start it?
How can you be a programmer without knowing how to search for answers before posting questions?
Why do you think that this will be different in .NET than in any other language? _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kevinf2349 |
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 5:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 28 Feb 2003 Posts: 1311 Location: USA
|
quangtv
Why on earth would you want to do that? If the queue manager is stopped then there is probably a good reason for it being so.
If it is just a start up script you need then that is a totally different question and that is probably best done outside of .Net |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 5:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Also, WebSphere MQ is not like MSMQ, except superficially.
You are better off pretending that you don't know anything about MSMQ, and learning WebSphere MQ from scratch, than from trying to make WebSphere MQ act or work like MSMQ. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jasonJonas |
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 6:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 07 Sep 2005 Posts: 10
|
i'd likely treat this as a fatal application error and log/email a support message. we do something similarly in our framework - when a component logs a fatal message it's logged to the audit table and email is sent to a configured distribution list. fatal errors such as this, while rare, typically require some form of human intervention. i wouldn't spend cycles trying to programattically remedy a situation where 9.99 times out 10 a human will be required to diagnose and rectify the problem.
i probably shouldn't mention this because i would not encourage this behavior, but if you're hell-bent on doing this programattically and if MQ and your application run on the same windoze box (this may work remotely too, i don't know), you can use a
System.ServiceProcess.ServiceController
instance to interact with the MQ service. again, imo you'd be wasting your time going this route.
jason |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 7:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
 _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|