Author |
Message
|
srinivasACN |
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 7:37 am Post subject: MQ and WAS - Message not making it to the application |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 08 Aug 2005 Posts: 43
|
Interestng problem I encountered during some performance testing.
I queued the queue with 200,000 messages of approx. 100KB each in size. Our application uses an MDB to dequeue the messages and validate them and store them into the database.
In a normal processing scenario, messags dequeue at a rate of 8 - 10 message per second.
But here is what we encountered. After a while of processing, the application server and the application are still up, BUT messages start dequeuing at arate of 40 - 60 messages per second and no data is being put into the database.
SO, my theory is that the messages are being dequeued but are getting lost within the application server ad never making it to the application.
Can anyone suggest what to do here or has anybody encountered something like this? Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ratan |
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 8:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Jul 2002 Posts: 1245
|
May be your database connection pools are filled up and not being released. _________________ -Ratan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
teal |
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 8:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 15 Dec 2004 Posts: 66
|
good thought. You can easily adjust the settings for the datasource connection to verify this is happening. Have you received any ConnectionWaitTimeoutException ? what is the value of the setting, 180? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
srinivasACN |
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 8:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 08 Aug 2005 Posts: 43
|
Ratan, this was my first thought as well. But would this not result a some sort of exception?
I forgot to mention, i do not see any exceptions in the log. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
srinivasACN |
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 8:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 08 Aug 2005 Posts: 43
|
teal wrote: |
good thought. You can easily adjust the settings for the datasource connection to verify this is happening. Have you received any ConnectionWaitTimeoutException ? what is the value of the setting, 180? |
Hey Teal, Unfortunately we did not get any exceptions....haha I kinda wished we did, it would give us some sort of direction. And yes the connection timeout we have set to 180. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Michael Dag |
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 9:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 13 Jun 2002 Posts: 2607 Location: The Netherlands (Amsterdam)
|
so what you are saying is you put a total 20Gig of data on a Queue,
verified it was all there, then started the MDB and the 20Gig of data disappeared into nowhere? without any errors / exceptions anywhere? _________________ Michael
MQSystems Facebook page |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kingsley |
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Disciple
Joined: 30 Sep 2001 Posts: 175 Location: Hursley
|
Try to retrieve the message in Syncpoint and commit only after the successful insertion into the DB.
That way, u can rollback if DB insert fails. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
teal |
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 12:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 15 Dec 2004 Posts: 66
|
you can also use tivoli perf viewer to see how many connections are being used and how long. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
srinivasACN |
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 12:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 08 Aug 2005 Posts: 43
|
I have been looking into Tivoli Peformance Viewer but being new to App Server. Not sure how to use it.
Any URL's or help would be greatly appreciated it. Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
srinivasACN |
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 12:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 08 Aug 2005 Posts: 43
|
Ok interesting observation. It looks like after about 15 - 16 minutes the database inserts dont occur.
Any configuration settings that reflect this time. I have looked everywhere I am sure it's something simple I am overlooking. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
srinivasACN |
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 1:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 08 Aug 2005 Posts: 43
|
Okay, haha thanks for baring with me. I got Tivoli Performance Viewer figure out and looks like at exactly about 15 minutes. The memory in the JVM gets used up.
So I think I found my problem. Thanks guys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|