|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Disconnect(); |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
dahacker |
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 7:06 am Post subject: Disconnect(); |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 20 Jul 2005 Posts: 5
|
per the examples in MQ manuals, every time I want to Put(), I:
new MQManager();
.
.
.
Put();
Close();
Disconnect();
1. What happens if I do not Disconnect()? Is that MQ reource lost? When does MQ decide that the transaction regarding that resource has timed out and free it up again?
2. Can calls to Close() and Diconnect() raise exceptions?
Thanks, |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 7:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
If you have more than one PUT to do, you should do them all. Only Close and Disconnect when your program is ending, or you have received an error of some kind.
Yes, Close() and Disconnect() can throw errors. The most frequently encountered ones have to do with trying to close or disconnect handles that are already closed/disconnected or have gone out of scope.
The default transaction handling is somewhat platform dependant (at a minimum, z/OS is different than distributed), and is documented. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dahacker |
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 9:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 20 Jul 2005 Posts: 5
|
You say "if you have more han one Put to do, you should do them all." So for every Put(), i need to invoke a new QueueManager? But I only need to Close and Disconnect once (when exiting or dealing with an error)?
Let's say I Close() and Disconnect() only when my application terminates or traps an exception. Because my app never terminates, and assuming I don't get any exceptions. Let's say my app terminates uncleanly and never called the Disconnect(). I then restart it. Assume this happens several times. What happens on the MQ side? Is that resource lost until I restart MQ?
I know I have finite MQ channels. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 9:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
dahacker wrote: |
You say "if you have more han one Put to do, you should do them all." So for every Put(), i need to invoke a new QueueManager? But I only need to Close and Disconnect once (when exiting or dealing with an error)? |
No.
dahacker wrote: |
Let's say I Close() and Disconnect() only when my application terminates or traps an exception. Because my app never terminates, and assuming I don't get any exceptions. |
Then only open a connection when your app starts up.
dahacker wrote: |
Let's say my app terminates uncleanly and never called the Disconnect(). I then restart it. Assume this happens several times. What happens on the MQ side? Is that resource lost until I restart MQ?
I know I have finite MQ channels. |
Pretend MQ is a database. Write your code to handle MQ's connections the same way you would a database... In a long running program, would you estabish and then disconnect a database connection for every Select/Insert/Update/Delete? I hope not...
What happens when your program dies without explicitly calling MQDisconnect depends on the language and the environment the code is running in and exactly how hard it dies...
Generally, though, if a process goes away completely, MQ will close the connection.
The Application Programming Guide and the AP Reference have a lot of good information on this stuff. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|