Author |
Message
|
tkane |
Posted: Fri May 21, 2004 12:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 23 Dec 2002 Posts: 82 Location: Kansas City
|
This is a very confusing message thread. At first it sounds like you were talking about filesystem space under /var/mqm/qmgrs and now it sounds like under /var/mqm/log
Is it possible that you are using linear logging?
In /var/mqm/qmgrs/{QMNAME}/qm.ini there is a LogType= parameter that will show you how you defined your logs.
I don't run linear logging so I'm not very familliar with the tools (there is a supportpac) to manage those logs.
Good Luck
Tom |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sat May 22, 2004 9:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
stop all channels on the Queue manager
run
Quote: |
Code: |
rcdmqimg -l -m <qmgrname case sensitive> -t all \* |
|
assuming that you run unix. In window you might omit the
Then Recycle your queue manager (stop) (start) it will flush the buffers to the file system and aknowledge new restart recovery points
In qmgrs/<qmgr>/errors check out the file with the latest date time.
read the last few entries
1 says file # to start the queue manager. ex 22
1 says file # to do media recovery. ex 21
You can now archive all files preceding the lowest of the 2 numbers (ex 0-20)
Restart all your channels
Make sure you have enough log space to create the image.
I would keep gmgr, log space, log archive space on different volumes.
Check out pack M?0L for automatic log archiving utility. I am using the java version on MQ 5.3 csd06 and it works fine (aix ibm java 1.3.1 and Solaris java 1.4.1)
Read the manual on backup and recovery (red book)
Hope this helps
F.J. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 10:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Tibor |
Posted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 3:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 20 May 2001 Posts: 1033 Location: Hungary
|
Quote: |
Not good news, but official news nonetheless. |
It depends on. If you prefer the performance of messaging (and who doesn't?) this behavior seems good
There is an old topic, but shows the difference:
http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=568&
Tibor |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 6:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
Found something interesting today. This was on Windows. MQ 5.3.0.8.
Load up a queue with 200,000 Persistent messages. Each 100K in length. Queue File is 20GB. Issue Clear Q command. Q file drops to 1K.
Load up a queue with 200,000 Persistent messages. Each 100K in length. Queue File is 20GB. Destructivly MQGET all the messages till the queue is empty. Queue file is still 20GB. Issuing Clear Q against the empty q does nothing, still 20 GB
Add 1 message to that empty queue with a 20GB file size, and then issue the clear queue command against that one little message, and it shrinks the queue file down to 1K!  _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastianhirt |
Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 6:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yatiri
Joined: 07 Jun 2004 Posts: 620 Location: Germany
|
Interesting feature, in deed
So in other words, only clearing a queue will make it 'empty'... And Clearing would only help if a message is in the queue...
But does that also mean that unless you clear a queue, you would be theoreticaly able to extract data from a queue file even if the messages were gotten already? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
sebastianhirt wrote: |
But does that also mean that unless you clear a queue, you would be theoreticaly able to extract data from a queue file even if the messages were gotten already? |
I'd think you'd have to know quite a lot about the internal structure of the queue file. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|