ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » Wire format of JMS Pub Sub Topic Destination

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Wire format of JMS Pub Sub Topic Destination « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Paul D
PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:29 pm    Post subject: Wire format of JMS Pub Sub Topic Destination Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 16 May 2001
Posts: 200
Location: Green Bay Packer Country

How are multiple topics on a publish message formatted? I know a single one looks like this (from Message Broker Trace...)

Code:
                                     (0x01000000):jms            = (
                                       (0x01000000):Dst = (
                                         (0x02000000): = 'topic://STOCK/IBM/PRICE'
                                             )
                                             (0x01000000):Dlv = (
                                               (0x02000000): = '1'
                                             )


Are the topics space seperated?

Code:
      (0x01000000):jms            = (
             (0x01000000):Dst = (
       (0x02000000): = 'topic://STOCK/IBM/PRICE1 STOCK/IBM/PRICE2'
                                             )
       (0x01000000):Dlv = (
       (0x02000000): = '1'
                                             )


I guess I'm assuming that this is supported in JMS. Any help here would be much appreciated. I'm trying to code this correctly in a Message Broker application.
_________________
Thanks!!!

Paul D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Since JMS uses URL formats for lots of things, including the topic, I doubt that space separation would work.

I also doubt that any single message can be published to more than one topic simultaneously... I'm not positive on this, but it would be surprising - and somewhat illogical.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bower5932
PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Aug 2001
Posts: 3023
Location: Dallas, TX, USA

I didn't think this was supported on JMS. You have to code it up yourself using the RFH2 header to get it to work. I thought there were details in either the MA0C manual or the WBI BRoker Pub/Sub manual.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Looks to me your topic hierarchy is not right
You should have something like
//STOCK/IBM/PRICE/PRICE1
//STOCK/IBM/PRICE/PRICE2

Then when you publish/subscribe to
//STOCK/IBM/PRICE
you would in fact receive the messages for both price/price1 and price/price2 and the general ones for price.

Enjoy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bower5932
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Aug 2001
Posts: 3023
Location: Dallas, TX, USA

fjb_saper wrote:
Then when you publish/subscribe to //STOCK/IBM/PRICE
you would in fact receive the messages for both price/price1 and price/price2 and the general ones for price.


I don't think publishing on stock/ibm will get messages passed to subscribers of stock/ibm/price1 and stock/ibm/price2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

I think subscribing to IBM/stock/price/(wildcard) will give you publications to IBM/stock/price, IBM/stock/price/price1 and IBM/stock/price/price2.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paul D
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 10:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 16 May 2001
Posts: 200
Location: Green Bay Packer Country

I'm OK with the wildcarding. That was just an example. My question still centers around publishing a single message with two topics. We've done this with our MQ Pub Sub apps under RFH V1 and the MQ API. I assume that the Pub Sub Broker, either MQ or MB/Event Broker always looks at it's non-JMS folders (psc or MQPS* values) and not the JMS folder values when it does it's routing. I've got a blend of these and I'm trying to understand what happens if I've got a MQ Pub Sub publisher that publishes a message with two topics and I try and convert that over to a JMS RFH v2 type message. Can I get that second topic reflected in the JMS folder?
_________________
Thanks!!!

Paul D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Why not publish it twice?

It seems counter-intuitive to me to have one message that belongs to two topics.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paul D
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 16 May 2001
Posts: 200
Location: Green Bay Packer Country

I understand that. This already exists in our environment. We don't want to change the publisher. I'd best describe it as actual event that triggers two events on the Pub Sub topic hierarchy.
_________________
Thanks!!!

Paul D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Well, apparently, it can be done anyway.

The Using Pub/Sub manual says , in describing the Publish command, "Topic can be repeated for as many topics as required."

So I guess that means you just add more Dst entries to the jms folder.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paul D
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 16 May 2001
Posts: 200
Location: Green Bay Packer Country

Yes, absolutely, that is known. It's the JMS calls and folders that I'm getting at. That which you refer to is the MQPS* tag values in RFH1. That manual covers MQ API and AMI, but not JMS. I'll do some more testing and research and report back to the thread.
_________________
Thanks!!!

Paul D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » Wire format of JMS Pub Sub Topic Destination
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.