Author |
Message
|
jsware |
Posted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 11:59 pm Post subject: Naming Queues after the Data or the Processing on the Data? |
|
|
 Chevalier
Joined: 17 May 2001 Posts: 455
|
I would like to find out whether people name queues after what the data in a message is, or what the processing does with the data.
Thus would you name a queue:
UPDATE.ORDER - i.e. name it after what the receiving application does with the message in some kind of verb-noun style.
or
ORDER.AMENDMENT - i.e. name the queue after what the data in the message is (an amendment to an order) and not what a receiving application does with the message.
I would also like to know the reasons why you would choose one or the other or both or neither... _________________ Regards
John
The pain of low quaility far outlasts the joy of low price. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Michael Dag |
Posted: Thu Jun 17, 2004 2:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 13 Jun 2002 Posts: 2607 Location: The Netherlands (Amsterdam)
|
I would say what the data is.
Additionally include FromApp ToApp in your naming.
So if you have any message from AppA to AppB going through the same Queue, you would get QueueName APPA.APPB... or if you prefer underscores... APPA_APPB
If you have different message types use that as a suffix
like APPA.APPB.ORDERS or APPA.APPB.PAYMENTS
When someting is wrong you easily know from where to where what went wrong, the other way around if someone calls you and says messages from AppA did not arrive in AppB you immediately know in which queue to look... _________________ Michael
MQSystems Facebook page |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Jun 17, 2004 4:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Naming standards are a good thing.
And like most other standards, there are so many to choose from!
So figure out what makes sense for you, and stick with it. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jsware |
Posted: Fri Jun 18, 2004 1:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Chevalier
Joined: 17 May 2001 Posts: 455
|
I have developed quite a wide set of standards for queue naming. Our basic convention is to name queues using the following structure:
APP_NAME.TRANSACTION_NAME
Where APP_NAME is the name of the application that is allowed access to the queue. We use alias/remote queue definitions to wire up
MYAPP.TRANSACTION_NAME -> YOURAPP.TRANSACTION_NAME
I am now looking in detail at the TRANSACTION_NAME. When I look at the queues we have I see a mixture of TRANSACTION_NAME styles - some of them are named after what the message content is (i.e. ORDER_AMENDMENT) and others are named after what the applications (typically the receiving application) does with the data (i.e. UPDATE_ORDER).
Thus we would have a queue called:
MYAPP.ORDER_AMENDMENT
or
MYAPP.UPDATE_ORDER
I wanted to canvas whether people preferred the "what it is" over "what it does" or vica-versa. I am not looking for general advise on queue naming standards as there are quite alot of hits on MQSeries.net on this already. _________________ Regards
John
The pain of low quaility far outlasts the joy of low price. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Michael Dag |
Posted: Fri Jun 18, 2004 2:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 13 Jun 2002 Posts: 2607 Location: The Netherlands (Amsterdam)
|
scottj2512 wrote: |
I wanted to canvas whether people preferred the "what it is" over "what it does" or vica-versa |
Well I prefer "what it is" over "what it does".
The real question you have to ask yourself is, what in your situation is the best solution to know what to do in what situation.
from an MQ admin operational perspective: if there is something wrong with a Queue can I easily tell who is using it and who should I inform (if you can't fix the problem right away)
from a 'help' perspective: if a user calls and says something is not working, how to deduct easily from the 'something' where to look.
If your users are 'talking' in "what it is" mode then use that,
if they are in "what it was supposed to do" mode then use that...
in the end MQ itself does not 'care' you could start with Q00001 and go from there ...  _________________ Michael
MQSystems Facebook page |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|