Author |
Message
|
MarkC6126 |
Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2020 7:12 am Post subject: Backup messages on a queue and put them back in one by one |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 18 Aug 2020 Posts: 5
|
Hi All,
Newbie here, could anyone help me with the commands to dump data messages to a file but then play them back in one by one or in smaller chunks please. Any information will be greatly received.
To be more precise I know how to dump messages out,
dmpmqmsg -iSTOREB -m ACEQM -fdumpofmessages
however if I were to dump those messages out clear the queue and then put them back in say 10 at a time. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2020 7:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Out of curiosity, put them back in 10 at a time for what purpose? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MarkC6126 |
Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2020 8:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 18 Aug 2020 Posts: 5
|
We had some very slow processing messages which was using a lot of resource and holding up other messages. So we need to take them out and play them back in at quieter times, until a resolution to the application code can be found. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RogerLacroix |
Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2020 9:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 3264 Location: London, ON Canada
|
Why don't you just create 2 queues? A slow message queue and a fast message queue and have the sending/publisher application put the messages to the appropriate queue.
Regards,
Roger Lacroix
Capitalware Inc. _________________ Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MarkC6126 |
Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2020 10:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 18 Aug 2020 Posts: 5
|
Hi Roger,
thanks for replying, sadly for now the only option we have is to separate the messages manually as they have to be taken out of the queue, sorted by country, they come in bulk. So whatever they still have to be played back in manually. even if we put them on another queue they still use a lot of resource taking up to 2 minutes to process one message. The application team are working on a different solution. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PaulClarke |
Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2020 10:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 17 Nov 2005 Posts: 1002 Location: New Zealand
|
dmpmqmsg is effectively a copy of my MO03 SupportPac often referred to as QLOAD. When I left IBM they took a copy of MO03 and made it part of the product to ensure that people has the base functionality of being able to unload and re-load a queue. However, I have continued to develop QLOAD and one of the many features I have added is the ability to transfer messages at a particular rate, So for example the command:
Code: |
qload -m QM1 -i SOURCE -o TARGET -R100:* |
will copy message from SOURCE to TARGET at 100 messages a second. You can just as easily use it when reading the messages from a file.
I appreciate that many people don't want to look at vendor products but the costs are often not great. Anyway if you would like a trial licence to try it out then just send and email to support@mqgem.com
Cheers,
Paul. _________________ Paul Clarke
MQGem Software
www.mqgem.com |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2020 12:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
What and where in the application is 2 minutes needed to process one message? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2020 2:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
bruce2359 wrote: |
What and where in the application is 2 minutes needed to process one message? |
DB access missing a critical index ???  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2020 3:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
fjb_saper wrote: |
bruce2359 wrote: |
What and where in the application is 2 minutes needed to process one message? |
DB access missing a critical index ???  |
Decades ago, in pursuit of the cause of horrible response time, I discovered an app that coded a SQL call to read a huge table, then SQL the needed row. Developer said that access to the needed row was faster that way. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2020 4:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
bruce2359 wrote: |
fjb_saper wrote: |
bruce2359 wrote: |
What and where in the application is 2 minutes needed to process one message? |
DB access missing a critical index ???  |
Decades ago, in pursuit of the cause of horrible response time, I discovered an app that coded a SQL call to read a huge table, then SQL the needed row. Developer said that access to the needed row was faster that way. |
And it might well have been before the table grew so huge. I firmly believe that part of the developer's job is also to anticipate table growth and its effects on SQL statements...  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MarkC6126 |
Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 12:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 18 Aug 2020 Posts: 5
|
Thanks to everyone that replied, I am very grateful for your expertise and advice. I will go back to the business application team with these suggestions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 6:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
A few more questions for you:
Are all applications in the o/s image running slowly? Or, just this one app?
Is this a new application?
Is this a new symptom?
What has changed? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 3:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
MarkC6126 wrote: |
Hi Roger,
thanks for replying, sadly for now the only option we have is to separate the messages manually as they have to be taken out of the queue, sorted by country, they come in bulk. So whatever they still have to be played back in manually. even if we put them on another queue they still use a lot of resource taking up to 2 minutes to process one message. The application team are working on a different solution. |
You don't have to do it manually. You could write a little tactical solution app that gets the messages and puts them into separate queues by country or processing complexity. You can then run the processing app against each queue at a suitable time. _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 9:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
MarkC6126 wrote: |
sadly for now the only option we have is to separate the messages manually as they have to be taken out of the queue, sorted by country, they come in bulk. |
How do you discover the country in order to sort them by country? Is it a text string? If yes, don't do it manually, at least make use of QLOAD and/or dmpmqmsg search capabilities.
Code: |
qload -m MQG1 -I SOURCE.Q -o COUNTRY.UK.Q -s "United Kingdom" |
Cheers,
Morag _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MarkC6126 |
Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2020 10:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 18 Aug 2020 Posts: 5
|
Thanks, gbaddeley and Morag,
Yes they come in in XML, the business have since decided to hold off any messages being submitted from Germany, which seemed a bit OTT. Thanks to everyone that contributed. You are all stars.  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|