Author |
Message
|
sevenfan |
Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 2:17 pm Post subject: Channel Startup |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 22 May 2003 Posts: 42
|
I created sender and receiver channels on two queue managers and have been successful in getting messages to transmit from one to the other. However, the one thing I needed to do manually was to start the sender channels before the messages would flow.
On my transmit queue, I set them up with TRIGDATA(sender_channel_name) and INITQ(SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ).
Is there anything else I need to do?
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vennela |
Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 2:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 11 Aug 2002 Posts: 4055 Location: Hyderabad, India
|
You will have to run the channel initiator to start the channels automatically. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 4:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
As you didn't say it, obviously turn on triggering.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sevenfan |
Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 8:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 22 May 2003 Posts: 42
|
So, I take it I didn't do quite enough. Looking at the documentation there is only a couple of things I am not quite sure of. It looks like I need to add START CHINIT INITQ(SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ)?
As for triggering, I thought that adding the TRIGDATA(sender_channel_name) to the transmit queue definition took care of that. No?
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 11:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
There is a seperate property for the queue that controls if triggering is on or off. TRIGGER or NOTRIGGER.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sevenfan |
Posted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 11:41 am Post subject: Just to make sure |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 22 May 2003 Posts: 42
|
Let me make sure I understand, then. I need to add the START CHINIT(SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ), and modify my transmit queue definitions to use the TRIGGER attribute. Then, everything should work, right?
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Sat Sep 27, 2003 2:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
Yes. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sevenfan |
Posted: Wed Oct 01, 2003 9:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 22 May 2003 Posts: 42
|
I attempted to run the START CHINIT after making the changes to the transmit queue. I got an error AMQ9509. Since my reading of the documentation indicates that I should be operating on SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ, and that queue exists, I'm wondering what else I need to look at.
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 4:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
I assume you are z/OS (OS/390)? If so, you need to be at version 5.3 to use channel triggering this way on the mainframe. Prior to 5.3, you had to define a procees definition to start the channel and refer to that process definition in the transmit queues attributes. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sevenfan |
Posted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 6:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 22 May 2003 Posts: 42
|
Not running z/OS. We're running WSMQ on AIX. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 6:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
I have never run AIX, I was not aware that it took the START CHINIT command, which looks like a mainframe command. On distributed, the command is runmqchi.
Anyway, I think the problem is that the channel initiator, however it was started, opens the INIT queue exclusivly, meaning noone else can open it. You probably have another instance of it running already. An easy way (On Windows anyway) to get rid of the old instance is to Get Inhibit the INIT queue. Once you see its IPROCS count go to zero, you can reenable the queue for GETs and then try restartuing your channel initiator.
I actually never had to bother with starting the initiator, since it automatically comes up when the QM comes up. (Again, never having worked with AIX maybe its different, but I don't think so.) _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Leafar |
Posted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 7:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 03 Apr 2003 Posts: 74 Location: Buenos Aires
|
all you have to do is :
alter ql(xmitq_name) initq(SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ) +
TRIGDATA(SENDERCHANNELNAME) +
TRIGGER
Saludos
Rafael |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sree |
Posted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 1:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 12 Mar 2003 Posts: 19
|
In AIX, channel initiator will be started with queue manager automatically. You can check with command ps -ef | grep <QmgrName> and find the process for /usr/mqm/bin/runmqchi is running or not. if not running , you can start it with the command runmqchi. _________________ Thank you.
sree |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sevenfan |
Posted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 10:36 am Post subject: Looks like you are both right |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 22 May 2003 Posts: 42
|
Process for the channel initiator was running, and I had already defined the transmit queue in the way suggested with TRIGGER and TRIGDATA(SENDERCHANNELNAME) and INITQ(SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ)
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|