Author |
Message
|
phaniIIB |
Posted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 11:10 am Post subject: Connect to an EXTERNAL Amazon SQS queue from IIB(v10.0.0.1) |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 28 Jul 2015 Posts: 51
|
Hello all,
I have an interesting use case of connecting to an EXTERNAL Amazon SQS queue and pulling the data, from IIB(v10.0.0.1). I am eager to know what' s the best way to do it. Did anyone work on this before. If so, Please share your experiences. Also, please share your thoughts based on your experience on how to integrate this.
Thanks in advance, |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ruimadaleno |
Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 3:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 08 May 2014 Posts: 274
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
phaniIIB |
Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 6:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 28 Jul 2015 Posts: 51
|
Thanks a tonne Rui Madaleno. I appreciate your help on this.
I will definitely check with the external parties(those who host AMAZON SQS) if they support API interface for their queues.
It is going to a lot challenging if a support of API interface is not available. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ruimadaleno |
Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 9:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 08 May 2014 Posts: 274
|
phaniIIB wrote: |
Thanks a tonne Rui Madaleno. I appreciate your help on this.
I will definitely check with the external parties(those who host AMAZON SQS) if they support API interface for their queues.
It is going to a lot challenging if a support of API interface is not available. |
Well, this is confusing. Maybe you need to provide some more info on your requirements.
I assume you have customer/client/partner/external partie who already provide some information (payload) in amazon sqs queues. I assume the requirement is to read/write from/to those amazon sqs queues.
In this scenario you can write a set of message flows to read/write info (payload) to the amazon SQS queues using the API provided by amazon. This API is simply a REST service and all you have to do is use http nodes with get/post methods and analyze what is included in the URL and post data/querystring. _________________ Best regards
Rui Madaleno |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
phaniIIB |
Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 12:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 28 Jul 2015 Posts: 51
|
Yes Rui Madaleno. You are right. All we have to do is to write message flows to read data from the externally hosted AMAZON SQS queues.
My question is that, Will the SQS queues have the REST API support by default or the host have to create the REST API interface for the consumers to interact with.
Sorry to confuse you and thanks for your patience. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 12:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
phaniIIB wrote: |
My question is that, Will the SQS queues have the REST API support by default or the host have to create the REST API interface for the consumers to interact with. |
The documentation link above indicates that SQS provides an API interface to access it.
I doubt any of the consumers coming in through IIB will be happy using that. If they wanted to call SQS directly they'd do it; I imagine they're expecting you to encapsulate the calls somehow. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ruimadaleno |
Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 1:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 08 May 2014 Posts: 274
|
so what you are looking for is a Amazon SQS API for IIB.
As far as i know, such API does not exist , but we have a product to build integration between heterogenious systems - IIB and you can easily (ok .. some effort here, but the amazon sqs documentation is very good) build a set of generic message flows (think generic , you may need to "talk" to SQS in serveral points of you applications and then you reuse this generic artifacts) to connect to SQS.
So, using the amazon SQS REST api, get a team with good product (http nodes behaviour - very importante) and technology knowledge ( http protocol, get, post, url ,querystring ,post data) and let us know the challenges and results. _________________ Best regards
Rui Madaleno |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 5:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
ruimadaleno wrote: |
As far as i know, such API does not exist , but we have a product to build integration between heterogenious systems - IIB and you can easily (ok .. some effort here, but the amazon sqs documentation is very good) build a set of generic message flows (think generic , you may need to "talk" to SQS in serveral points of you applications and then you reuse this generic artifacts) to connect to SQS. |
 _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
timber |
Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 5:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 25 Aug 2015 Posts: 1292
|
I think Amazon SQS also acts as a JMS provider, which may or may not be useful to you. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
phaniIIB |
Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 28 Jul 2015 Posts: 51
|
@Timber,
I don't think JMSInput node in IIB v10.0.0.1 has a support for AMAZON SQS as a JMS provider. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
phaniIIB |
Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 28 Jul 2015 Posts: 51
|
Rui and Vitor,
Thanks a lot for your suggestion. I will keep you updated if we face any challenges. That was really helpful. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
phaniIIB wrote: |
I don't think JMSInput node in IIB v10.0.0.1 has a support for AMAZON SQS as a JMS provider. |
Why would the node need specific support for AMAZON SQS?
Why would the node care who the JMS provider was, as long as it was correctly configured? _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 6:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
From looking at the java SDK for SQS it looks like there are some JMS like features... Not sure it supports / conforms to JMS though. You might have to add some framework stuff around it for that to happen...  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|