Author |
Message
|
MaheshPN |
Posted: Fri Sep 05, 2003 5:44 pm Post subject: [SOLVED]logon2() |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 21 May 2003 Posts: 245 Location: Charlotte, NC
|
Hi,
I want to have more information about when we can use
Different SessionMode’s available lilke DEFAULT, PRESENT AND PRESENT_HERE if possbile with example, that would be great!!!
Can somebody put light on this?
Thanks,
-Mahesh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
I believe that this is documented in the programming guide, you should look there if you want 100% accuracy, but this is what I believe about Session Modes:
Default You can have as many default sessions for a user as you wish (i.e if you don't logoff, they will stay there until they expire). Always remember, if you logon w/ DEFAULT to issue a logoff. Also, if you are still using "Automatic" PEA style activities they will not run in a Default session
Present You can only have a single present session. Automatic PEA activities will run on this type of session
Present Here This is another Present session, the difference is if you are already logged on, it will "force" the existing session off, and you become logged in at the new location. This is triggered by the force checkbox on the IBM supplied clients
As far as using these, my preference is to Always use a PRESENT type session when I am logging on a real user, and to use a Default session for all of my tools that go out and just check on things or clean things up.
Hope this helps _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MaheshPN |
Posted: Mon Sep 08, 2003 7:24 am Post subject: logon2() |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 21 May 2003 Posts: 245 Location: Charlotte, NC
|
Thanks Jhon,
I have a situation like this. A java program will get triggered as soon as message comes to the queue. This Java program will log on to workflow using user say "Auto" and performs the task and logoff which normally takes 10min. every 20sec I get a new message in queue and I need to start new java instance. I believe I cannot use PRESENT_HERE since it is already been logged. So I thought of using PRESENT which allow multiple sessions to same user.
Correct me if my assumption were wrong. Or can you suggest some better way to handle this situation?
Thanks,
-Mahesh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Mon Sep 08, 2003 7:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Mahesh:
You assumption is wrong. You must use a Default session to accomplish what you want. You can only have 1 present session per user in MQWF. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sshaker |
Posted: Mon Sep 08, 2003 5:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 20 Sep 2002 Posts: 185
|
present here is the better way for automatic programs but in ur case, it is recommended to use default as u need more than one session per user.. ur getting a message every 20sec but ur java application lives 600 sec!! _________________ shaker |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ratan |
Posted: Mon Sep 08, 2003 10:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Jul 2002 Posts: 1245
|
Quote: |
present here is the better way for automatic programs |
why? _________________ -Ratan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sshaker |
Posted: Tue Sep 09, 2003 4:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 20 Sep 2002 Posts: 185
|
Quote: |
There can only be a single present session for one user. The present here option can be used, to force that other present session logoff and to newly establish a present session here. Note that using a present here session mode also requests to shut down the program execution agent. |
if the contact admin is to do one-off type tasks, which is predominant, it is good to use present here .. as it logs off any other session and ensures that the 'job' is done.. but in this case, the prg explicitly requires to login multiple times..
present here is not the option always! one has to chose the option depending on the requirement _________________ shaker |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MaheshPN |
Posted: Tue Sep 09, 2003 5:42 am Post subject: logon2() |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 21 May 2003 Posts: 245 Location: Charlotte, NC
|
Thanks Guys,
I have one more question!!!
What is the default session for logon()
Thanks,
-Mahesh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|