Author |
Message
|
ben harris |
Posted: Wed Jul 30, 2003 2:10 pm Post subject: updating data container |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 25 Jun 2003 Posts: 19
|
I can't seem to successfully update my data container for an inflight process.
I thought I had a solution with:
-Get inputContainer of current activity.
-Modify the inputContainer.
-do an activity.forcerestart( new-container ).
But this didn't quite do what I wanted. The container was updated, but all workitems stayed where there were assigned.
So I added:
-fetch workitem
-transfer workitem to new user
But this fails when the new user try's to access the workitem. The error is Error Message : FMC00120E State does not allow this action
Nested Exception : None
at com.ibm.workflow.api.loc.WorkItemImpl.checkOut2(WorkItemImpl.java:265)
.........
Does anyone know how to modify a data container (perferably at the activity instance level) and then restart activities so that the new changes take effect? -- in my case the new changes would result in the workitems being reassigned.
Any help is appreciated.
Iam stuck!
thanks.
Ben. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ratan |
Posted: Wed Jul 30, 2003 3:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Jul 2002 Posts: 1245
|
I dont think what you are trying to do is possible. When you restart an activity the staff resolution doesnot take place. The workitem is just assigned to who ever restarted it, and all other are set to disabled. _________________ -Ratan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ben harris |
Posted: Wed Jul 30, 2003 3:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 25 Jun 2003 Posts: 19
|
That's pretty much what I saw when I did the forcerestart().
I thought a 'transfer()' would do the trick but I get the error I mentioned earlier.
I wonder if the only option available is to terminate the process-instance and restart the entire process-instance over?
But do think I would run into any similar problems with a process-instance restart()? Such as those new assignments won't be accessable because the person who restarted the process-instance is the only valid user and all others are disabled.
Ben. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ratan |
Posted: Wed Jul 30, 2003 4:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Jul 2002 Posts: 1245
|
But you cant update your process Instance input container, so I dont think Process Instance restart will be usefull to you unless the staff are being determined by some Activity and passed on to the intended activity. _________________ -Ratan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ratan |
Posted: Wed Jul 30, 2003 4:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Jul 2002 Posts: 1245
|
you can transfer the workitem directly to the new user. The user who transfers should have the workitem authorixation for both the old user and the new user. _________________ -Ratan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Thu Jul 31, 2003 5:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Ben wrote: |
Does anyone know how to modify a data container (perferably at the activity instance level) and then restart activities so that the new changes take effect? -- in my case the new changes would result in the workitems being reassigned |
If I understand correctly what you want to do is have this activity inside a block, then you would use ForceFinishWithContainer and set the value in such a way that the Block would fail its exit condition.
GOOD LUCK _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Andy |
Posted: Thu Jul 31, 2003 8:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 14 May 2003 Posts: 122
|
And use Data Loop Connector on the block... _________________
Andy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|