Author |
Message
|
kunal07 |
Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 2:51 am Post subject: Remove special characters |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 05 Dec 2012 Posts: 72
|
Hi All,
I am trying to remove special characters from message
ABC \r\n 7262671 \r\nPRL \r\n34/01dataconnect1 \r\n-
Code snippet, I tried:-
DECLARE whiteSpace CONSTANT CHARACTER CAST( X'090D0A20' AS CHAR CCSID 1208);
SET Message = REPLACE (Data, '\r\n', '');
SET KeyIdentifier = TRIM (whiteSpace from Message);
But it is not working.
any help |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gralgrathor |
Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 2:59 am Post subject: Re: Remove special characters |
|
|
Master
Joined: 23 Jul 2009 Posts: 297
|
kunal07 wrote: |
Code: |
SET Message = REPLACE (Data, '\r\n', ''); |
|
Is that your literal code?
And, ehr, is your search engine broken, perhaps? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kunal07 |
Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 3:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 05 Dec 2012 Posts: 72
|
this is the code which i am testing but it not removing the /r/n like of values |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gralgrathor |
Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 3:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 23 Jul 2009 Posts: 297
|
kunal07 wrote: |
this is the code which i am testing but it not removing the /r/n like of values |
That's because WMB can't guess that by '\r\n' you actually mean CAST(X'0d0a' as character). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kunal07 |
Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 4:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 05 Dec 2012 Posts: 72
|
i am able to replace the values with blank space but not able to remove the white space .
i used trim function which remove the leading and trailing white spaces but not between the string.
any solution? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kimbert |
Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 4:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 29 Jul 2003 Posts: 5542 Location: Southampton
|
Quote: |
I am trying to remove special characters from message |
Why do you need to remove the special characters? _________________ Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way you're a mile away, and you have their shoes too. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kunal07 |
Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 4:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 05 Dec 2012 Posts: 72
|
its simple, i don't need the space in between my string |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gralgrathor |
Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 23 Jul 2009 Posts: 297
|
You want to replace white spaces in your string.
Your function is TRANSLATE.
The characters to translate are: '\r', '\n', ' '. Your string would therefore be: CAST(X'0A0D20' as CHARACTER CCSID 1208) -- (assuming utf- .
You might really want to use the info center and search engine before resorting to asking questions on this forum. This is not the best way to learn WMB development. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gralgrathor |
Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 23 Jul 2009 Posts: 297
|
kimbert wrote: |
Why do you need to remove the special characters? |
And of course it never hurts to ask why you want something in the first place. I keep forgetting that and assume that people have good reasons for wanting the things they want. I keep forgetting they're people  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kunal07 |
Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 05 Dec 2012 Posts: 72
|
i have already check the infocentre then only post the comment.
i have used TRANSLATE and trim also but not able to remove the space from my string.
ex :Abc ab bc de anc - input,
i want Abc ab bc de anc - output but not able to do so.
Please suggest |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kunal07 |
Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 05 Dec 2012 Posts: 72
|
there are 10 spaces between each string and i want to replace them by i space |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gralgrathor |
Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 23 Jul 2009 Posts: 297
|
kunal07 wrote: |
Please suggest |
Already gave the solution in the comment you're responding to. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gralgrathor |
Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 23 Jul 2009 Posts: 297
|
kunal07 wrote: |
there are 10 spaces between each string and i want to replace them by i space |
Then extend the 3d parameter of TRANSLATE by as many characters as there are in the 2nd, eg. TRANSLATE(string, 'ABC', '...'); This *is* described in the documentation. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Esa |
Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 22 May 2008 Posts: 1387 Location: Finland
|
kunal07 wrote: |
there are 10 spaces between each string and i want to replace them by i space |
Are you sure you are doing the right thing?
Why don't you define a DFDL schema or a Message Set and let the parser take care of all this? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gralgrathor |
Posted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 23 Jul 2009 Posts: 297
|
Esa wrote: |
kunal07 wrote: |
there are 10 spaces between each string and i want to replace them by i space |
Are you sure you are doing the right thing?
Why don't you define a DFDL schema or a Message Set and let the parser take care of all this? |
Or, since his aim seems to be to provide an identifier, use a message id or aa uuid... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|