ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » Query Runtime database

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Query Runtime database « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Andy
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2003 4:18 am    Post subject: Query Runtime database Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 14 May 2003
Posts: 122

When it is said that we should not touch MQWF runtime database in our applications, does it also include querying database?
For example, I just want to check how many users are logged or want to get count of running process instances.
Are these also unsafe actions and can effect performance?
_________________
Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
praveenchhangani
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2003 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 20 Sep 2002
Posts: 192
Location: Chicago, IL

This is not the answer to Andy's question, but more of an addition on my part.. I too have been wanting to query the runtime database on a certain tables contained in the database.

And now the questions...

Since the application is external of workflow, is this a good idea? In other words having an external application query the runtime database.

1). Is this something that IBM would probably discourage us from doing?

2.) Would this cause any potential deadlocks on the database?

3.) And like Andy asked, would this have an impact on performance?

Any input is appreciated! Thanks.
_________________
Praveen K. Chhangani,

IBM Certified Solutions Designer -
MQ Workflow 3.4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
educos
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2003 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 18 Jul 2001
Posts: 34
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

The only table you are officially allowed to query is the AUDIT table.

IBM will discourage - and will likely not support or systems assure - any solution that directly queries the RTDB directly.

There can be broad MQWF runtime performance implications - depending on what you would query and how.

What is your reason for needing to query the RTDB directly? Are the API, the audit DB, and the various views not sufficient to support your requirement?
_________________
Eric Ducos

EmeriCon, LLC.
Phone: (801) 789-4348
e-Mail: Eric.Ducos@EmeriCon.com
Website: www.EmeriCon.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
praveenchhangani
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2003 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 20 Sep 2002
Posts: 192
Location: Chicago, IL

Thanks educos.

Yeah, essentially what we are looking into is developing a admin utility of some sort that performs a query on the RTDB on things like what role(s) a user already has and what authorizations he/she has, and basically generate .fdl based on the query and send it to various business developers that are currently having to -o option everytime they want't to update a user and his/her roles.

Since the business unit developers do a lot of adding/updating and deleting they would like to have a utility that have aid in the daily process. There will be certianly be some level of abstraction involved but the idea is to extract that information regarding the workflow users and create .fdl which will be supplied to external folks that are making daily user additions/deletions etc. This way they know what the latest image contains and exactly who they need to add/delete/update etc.

That's the deal we are currently faced with, and the reason we are having to query the RTDB. Thanks
_________________
Praveen K. Chhangani,

IBM Certified Solutions Designer -
MQ Workflow 3.4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
educos
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2003 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 18 Jul 2001
Posts: 34
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

The LDAP bridge for MQWF 3.4 may help you. I say _may_ because you can only run batch jobs that synchronize your MQWF runtime DB with an LDAP repository. If you have an LDAP repository and if you can run the LDAP bridge frequently enough (but I would never recommend more than once a day), than you just have to deal with your LDAP repository to make queries - again, as long as you're able to live with the staffing information update latency due to the batch nature of the LDAP bridge.

If you need "real time" queries and updates, than you'll need to parse FDL and use fmcibie on the fly. To facilitate your FDL parsing work, I would use the javacc-generated FDL parser that comes with the WA84 support pack. We have used it successfully to implement our own FDL/fmcibie Java front and that allows us to do exactly what you describe - unfortunately, I am not at liberty to share the code (my company's IP)!
_________________
Eric Ducos

EmeriCon, LLC.
Phone: (801) 789-4348
e-Mail: Eric.Ducos@EmeriCon.com
Website: www.EmeriCon.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ucbus1
PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2003 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 30 Jan 2002
Posts: 560

Educos,
Quote:
If you need "real time" queries and updates, than you'll need to parse FDL and use fmcibie on the fly

If I understand correctly
1. We need to trap what user wants to change say "role",
2. then export the FDL from run time,
3. use JavaCC to parse the FDL and take the porting of the FDL corresponding to the "role".
4. Modify it and import back into workflow
is that right?

Also, on JavaCC in WA84 does it use JTB also? Does it has customized visitor classes? or did you customize the parser?

Please let me know
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
educos
PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2003 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 18 Jul 2001
Posts: 34
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

Right, you never need to customize the parser itself, just the visitors.
At one point they had included the javacc & jjtree grammar files, but now they just include the binaries (compiled Java) in the support pack.

Of course, you're on your own to rebuild FDL to import stuff back through fmcibie - but creating FDL - especially when all you do is staffing-related - is a fairly simple thing to do.

BTW, I don't know what effect frequent invocations of FMCIBIE (for import) would have on the RTDB. I assume some locking occurs in order to do the staffing updates internally, so if you do it too frequently, I expect your RT performance could be impacted.
_________________
Eric Ducos

EmeriCon, LLC.
Phone: (801) 789-4348
e-Mail: Eric.Ducos@EmeriCon.com
Website: www.EmeriCon.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Andy
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 14 May 2003
Posts: 122

My requirement is to get logged in Users and also to get the ROLEs each user belongs to. Using this information, Staff Assignment of workitems and a Virtual User, one demon application will distribute the load according to client requirements which is not possible using Buildtime settings or APIs.

But as you say, IBM discourage querying RTDB, we'll have to look for other solution

By the way, which document of IBM says that they would not support the system/solution which directly queries runtime database? Better to know beforehand what all IBM discourage to do
Thanks
_________________
Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmac
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 4:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

I don't think there is a document that indicates this... But you could simply ask them and unless something has changed you will find that they will discourage you. You could also browse the IBM newsgroup and Im pretty sure you will see at least one or two posts there from developers indicating that they discourage direct access to the runtime DB.
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » Query Runtime database
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.