Author |
Message
|
bdrummond |
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 6:17 am Post subject: Problem with empty CLOB field in DB |
|
|
Disciple
Joined: 06 May 2004 Posts: 164
|
I am calling an Oracle Stored Proc that simply takes a few input parameters and inserts the data into a table.
2 of these fields are of datatype CLOB within Oracle and I am trying to insert a deserialised XML string into these fields.
The call to the stored proc is successful, however the CLOB fields are empty, although all other fields are populated with correct data.
I have tried with a simple CHAR field of 'ABC' for example but the problem persists.
Is there something I am missing on the ODBC Driver perhaps..?
This is a windows v7.0.0.2 Broker and I am using the WMB Data Direct Technologies 6.0 32-BIT Oracle Wire Protocol driver.
I can insert the data successfully using the INSERT command.
Any ideas and thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 6:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
Turn on ODBC trace and see if any warnings are being reported. There are many APARs associated with the config you mentioned. You might think about upgrading to 7.0.0.3 and latest version of the ODBC driver.
http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg1IC74275
Quote: |
When using ESQL to insert data into an Oracle CLOB column, if the data is 3,999 bytes or more then no error is reported but the column which should contain data is found to be empty. This problem affects WebSphere Message Broker 7.0.0.2 and only when the Oracle database is not Unicode.
|
The fix is targeted for delivery in the following PTFs:
V7.0 - Maintenance Level 7.0.0.3 _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bdrummond |
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 6:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Disciple
Joined: 06 May 2004 Posts: 164
|
Thanks for the quick response.
Unfortunately, I don't believe that upgrading to 7.0.0.3 is an option in our UAT/PROD environments at the present time but I can certainly upgrade a DEV Broker and try that out.
Was just thrown a bit by the fact that using the INSERT statement worked ok but the Stored Proc didn't. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 6:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
You can request a custom APAR build. The bug you noticed is a known issue with 7.0.0.2 along with about 364 other bugs. Whomever is giving you grief for wanting maintenance applied should be ashamed. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 7:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
lancelotlinc wrote: |
You can request a custom APAR build. The bug you noticed is a known issue with 7.0.0.2 along with about 364 other bugs. Whomever is giving you grief for wanting maintenance applied should be ashamed. |
Are you going to offer your services FREE of CHARGE to do all the Regression Tests that Brendan (the OP) would have to do to his system in order to apply the 7.0.0.3 fixpack?
Hhmmmmmm
I thought not.
Out in the real world, it is not possible to 'Just apply the latest fixpack' without a lot of planning and testing. Even then you can't be sure of finding all the issues as I know to my cost. One bug appeared 6 months after we'd gone to one fixpack. We had to reverse it out until a fix was applied to another system. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
Human-supervised automation minimizes timelines and efforts. Regression testing in a Continuous Integration environment then becomes routine daily tasks and migrating up or down version levels becomes trivial pursuits. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
lancelotlinc wrote: |
Human-supervised automation minimizes timelines and efforts. Regression testing in a Continuous Integration environment then becomes routine daily tasks and migrating up or down version levels becomes trivial pursuits. |
There speaks someone who ls living in his very own perfect universe.
Shhhhhh. We don't want to wake him up now do we?
 _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqsiuser |
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Yatiri
Joined: 15 Apr 2008 Posts: 637 Location: Germany
|
smdavies99 wrote: |
lancelotlinc wrote: |
Human-supervised automation minimizes timelines and efforts. Regression testing in a Continuous Integration environment then becomes routine daily tasks and migrating up or down version levels becomes trivial pursuits. |
There speaks someone who ls living in his very own perfect universe.
Shhhhhh. We don't want to wake him up now do we?
 |
It's nice to see that for lancelotlinc this approach (still/really) works... it should actually work in general and yes it is desirable
He must be working at a really big company, which is able to spend $ and have all this effords. _________________ Just use REFERENCEs |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
mqsiuser wrote: |
smdavies99 wrote: |
lancelotlinc wrote: |
Human-supervised automation minimizes timelines and efforts. Regression testing in a Continuous Integration environment then becomes routine daily tasks and migrating up or down version levels becomes trivial pursuits. |
There speaks someone who ls living in his very own perfect universe.
Shhhhhh. We don't want to wake him up now do we?
 |
It's nice to see that for lancelotlinc this approach (still/really) works... it should actually work in general and yes it is desirable
He must be working at a really big company, which is able to spend $ and have all this effords. |
We have a site license for IBM toolset. This includes ClearCase, BuildForge, ClearQuest, and other tooling. For those that didn't invest in this type of license, there is always Hudson, SVN, and Maven. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
mqsiuser wrote: |
He must be working at a really big company, which is able to spend $ and have all this effords. |
And has the political will to do it all.
Many, many previous discussions refer. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Vitor wrote: |
mqsiuser wrote: |
He must be working at a really big company, which is able to spend $ and have all this effords. |
And has the political will to do it all.
Many, many previous discussions refer. |
No will involved... lots of political backing though  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|