|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
UDP Schema or Module scope question |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
sunny_30 |
Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 2:18 am Post subject: UDP Schema or Module scope question |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 03 Oct 2005 Posts: 258
|
In the Message flow, I have declared two UDPs:
Property1 & Property2
ESQL looks like this:
Quote: |
DECLARE Property1 EXTERNAL CHARACTER 'x';
CREATE COMPUTE MODULE Compute
DECLARE Property2 EXTERNAL CHARACTER 'y';
CREATE FUNCTION Main() RETURNS BOOLEAN
BEGIN
END;
END MODULE; |
My understanding is that Property1 is visible for at esql Schema level & Property2 is visible within in the Compute node module's esql..
But still fail to understand what exactly is the difference as two of these UDPs are visible as Barfile deployable parameters
Can someone please explain (with an example requirement..) when exactly the UDP external scope have to defined the above way i.e at schema level or module level
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 2:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
So Property2 will not be "visible" to any ESQL code that is not part of that exact compute module, and Property1 will not be 'visible' to any ESQL that is in a different broker schema. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kash3338 |
Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 2:55 am Post subject: Re: UDP Schema or Module scope question |
|
|
Shaman
Joined: 08 Feb 2009 Posts: 709 Location: Chennai, India
|
sunny_30 wrote: |
Can someone please explain (with an example requirement..) when exactly the UDP external scope have to defined the above way i.e at schema level or module level
Thanks |
AFAIK the UDP is just global irrespective of where you declare it inside your compute node. This link says it all about UDP,
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmbhelp/v7r0m0/index.jsp?topic=/com.ibm.etools.mft.doc/ac00643_.htm
Quote: |
A UDP has global scope and is not specific to a particular subflow. If you reuse a subflow in a message flow, and those subflows have identical UDPs, you cannot set the UDPs to different values.
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 3:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Kas3338 - a quote from your same link
Quote: |
For example, if you use the Message Flow editor to change the value of a user property called timezone, which is declared in a schema called mySchema, in a message flow called myFlow, the UDP is available at run time to all the nodes in myFlow that support UDPs and that fall within mySchema. |
Note the bit about "declared in a schema" and "fall within the schema". |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Esa |
Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 3:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 22 May 2008 Posts: 1387 Location: Finland
|
If an external variable is to be used in one module only, I normally declare it within that module - just to make the code more readable. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|