ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » Browsing a Transmission Queue

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Browsing a Transmission Queue « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
mattfarney
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:50 pm    Post subject: Browsing a Transmission Queue Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Posts: 167
Location: Ohio

Due to various reasons beyond my control, I am trying to create a monitoring application.

We have had some intermittent issues with messages sitting in transmission queues while the channel is running with no traffic flowing or the channel is inactive.

My difficulty comes in determining if messages are leaving a queue. For a regular queue, I can browse the first message for its messageid and check the value against a later test, but that won't work for transmission queues since they are normally get(disabled).

I guess I could check for xmitQ depth and the related channel in INACTIVE or (RUNNING with lstmsgda/lstmsgti past some defined window).

Anyone have any other suggestions?

As an aside, is there any reason that xmit queues are set get(disabled) by default? A non-destructive browse shouldn't cause any problems imo.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

-mf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:32 pm    Post subject: Re: Browsing a Transmission Queue Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

mattfarney wrote:
We have had some intermittent issues with messages sitting in transmission queues while the channel is running with no traffic flowing or the channel is inactive.


There's something wrong with your channel triggering if messages are in the xmitq and the channel is inactive. If the channel is running and there are messages in the xmitq, raise a PMR because that's a problem.

mattfarney wrote:
I guess I could check for xmitQ depth and the related channel in INACTIVE or (RUNNING with lstmsgda/lstmsgti past some defined window).


This is your best bet & can be done with PCF commands. Again, if depth > 0 and channel is inactive, the channel trigger is incorrectly set. If depth > 0 and channel is running depth should go to 0 within the parameters set on the channel.

mattfarney wrote:
Anyone have any other suggestions?


I'd check the channel triggering before writing code.

mattfarney wrote:
As an aside, is there any reason that xmit queues are set get(disabled) by default? A non-destructive browse shouldn't cause any problems imo.


a) the MCA doesn't enjoy having it's messages read
b) there's no reason to read messages on this queue
c) having get disabled prevents the inept, the clumsy and the malicious from reading messages off by accident or design
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:54 pm    Post subject: Re: Browsing a Transmission Queue Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7722

Vitor wrote:
mattfarney wrote:
We have had some intermittent issues with messages sitting in transmission queues while the channel is running with no traffic flowing or the channel is inactive.


There's something wrong with your channel triggering if messages are in the xmitq and the channel is inactive. If the channel is running and there are messages in the xmitq, raise a PMR because that's a problem.

There's quite a few legitimate reasons for messages to be in the XMITQ with the channel running.

The rate of messages arriving to the XMITQ can be greater than the rate at which the channel can move them due to network latency.

The RCVR channel maybe in a PAUSED state due to Message Retry Count / Interval, meanwhile the SNDR says running while it waits.

The depth may reflect uncomitted messages not yet available for the SNDR MCA to process.
_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

I stand corrected
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9469
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

and... it's possible that a triggered channel can be inactive if messages are not yet committed. Recall that a trigger msg is put to an init queue in a uofw if the application message is in a uofw
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 5:26 pm    Post subject: Re: Browsing a Transmission Queue Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

mattfarney wrote:
Due to various reasons beyond my control, I am trying to create a monitoring application.

We have had some intermittent issues with messages sitting in transmission queues while the channel is running with no traffic flowing or the channel is inactive.

My difficulty comes in determining if messages are leaving a queue. For a regular queue, I can browse the first message for its messageid and check the value against a later test, but that won't work for transmission queues since they are normally get(disabled).

I guess I could check for xmitQ depth and the related channel in INACTIVE or (RUNNING with lstmsgda/lstmsgti past some defined window).

Anyone have any other suggestions?

As an aside, is there any reason that xmit queues are set get(disabled) by default? A non-destructive browse shouldn't cause any problems imo.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

-mf


If you use AIX and message compression on your channels and your version is greater than 6.0.2.5 open a PMR with IBM and ask for the fix relevant to your version.

We had the problem with cluster channels. The fix was delivered by PMR.
The symptom was poison message in the XMITQ channel stays in running state.

Have fun

Enjoy
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » Browsing a Transmission Queue
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.