|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Browsing a Transmission Queue |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
mattfarney |
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:50 pm Post subject: Browsing a Transmission Queue |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 17 Jan 2006 Posts: 167 Location: Ohio
|
Due to various reasons beyond my control, I am trying to create a monitoring application.
We have had some intermittent issues with messages sitting in transmission queues while the channel is running with no traffic flowing or the channel is inactive.
My difficulty comes in determining if messages are leaving a queue. For a regular queue, I can browse the first message for its messageid and check the value against a later test, but that won't work for transmission queues since they are normally get(disabled).
I guess I could check for xmitQ depth and the related channel in INACTIVE or (RUNNING with lstmsgda/lstmsgti past some defined window).
Anyone have any other suggestions?
As an aside, is there any reason that xmit queues are set get(disabled) by default? A non-destructive browse shouldn't cause any problems imo.
Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
-mf |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:32 pm Post subject: Re: Browsing a Transmission Queue |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
mattfarney wrote: |
We have had some intermittent issues with messages sitting in transmission queues while the channel is running with no traffic flowing or the channel is inactive. |
There's something wrong with your channel triggering if messages are in the xmitq and the channel is inactive. If the channel is running and there are messages in the xmitq, raise a PMR because that's a problem.
mattfarney wrote: |
I guess I could check for xmitQ depth and the related channel in INACTIVE or (RUNNING with lstmsgda/lstmsgti past some defined window). |
This is your best bet & can be done with PCF commands. Again, if depth > 0 and channel is inactive, the channel trigger is incorrectly set. If depth > 0 and channel is running depth should go to 0 within the parameters set on the channel.
mattfarney wrote: |
Anyone have any other suggestions? |
I'd check the channel triggering before writing code.
mattfarney wrote: |
As an aside, is there any reason that xmit queues are set get(disabled) by default? A non-destructive browse shouldn't cause any problems imo. |
a) the MCA doesn't enjoy having it's messages read
b) there's no reason to read messages on this queue
c) having get disabled prevents the inept, the clumsy and the malicious from reading messages off by accident or design _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:54 pm Post subject: Re: Browsing a Transmission Queue |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
Vitor wrote: |
mattfarney wrote: |
We have had some intermittent issues with messages sitting in transmission queues while the channel is running with no traffic flowing or the channel is inactive. |
There's something wrong with your channel triggering if messages are in the xmitq and the channel is inactive. If the channel is running and there are messages in the xmitq, raise a PMR because that's a problem.
|
There's quite a few legitimate reasons for messages to be in the XMITQ with the channel running.
The rate of messages arriving to the XMITQ can be greater than the rate at which the channel can move them due to network latency.
The RCVR channel maybe in a PAUSED state due to Message Retry Count / Interval, meanwhile the SNDR says running while it waits.
The depth may reflect uncomitted messages not yet available for the SNDR MCA to process. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 7:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
I stand corrected _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 7:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
and... it's possible that a triggered channel can be inactive if messages are not yet committed. Recall that a trigger msg is put to an init queue in a uofw if the application message is in a uofw _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 5:26 pm Post subject: Re: Browsing a Transmission Queue |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
mattfarney wrote: |
Due to various reasons beyond my control, I am trying to create a monitoring application.
We have had some intermittent issues with messages sitting in transmission queues while the channel is running with no traffic flowing or the channel is inactive.
My difficulty comes in determining if messages are leaving a queue. For a regular queue, I can browse the first message for its messageid and check the value against a later test, but that won't work for transmission queues since they are normally get(disabled).
I guess I could check for xmitQ depth and the related channel in INACTIVE or (RUNNING with lstmsgda/lstmsgti past some defined window).
Anyone have any other suggestions?
As an aside, is there any reason that xmit queues are set get(disabled) by default? A non-destructive browse shouldn't cause any problems imo.
Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
-mf |
If you use AIX and message compression on your channels and your version is greater than 6.0.2.5 open a PMR with IBM and ask for the fix relevant to your version.
We had the problem with cluster channels. The fix was delivered by PMR.
The symptom was poison message in the XMITQ channel stays in running state.
Have fun
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|