Author |
Message
|
sg_ric |
Posted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 4:50 am Post subject: System Configuration or Code Re-modfication |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 04 Jan 2009 Posts: 13
|
Hi | Dear All,
Background problem
There is a legacy self-developed application/libraries using MQ Server 6 (server residing in one remote area) and client/drivers 6 (many other machines connecting to the server). Working perfectly but due to some enhancement of certain procedure, the client machine need to be installed with MQ Client 7. Here comes the problem.
Problem :
The legacy app residing at the client machine could not function as before, and i managed to trace the error and the error is CWSMQ0006E, Reason code: 2033.
Troubleshoot:
I'm not sure if its the new version MQ Client 7 API that is causing the problem or certain additional steps need to be perform at the MQ Server 6 configuration or lastly modifications to the legacy app (last resort).
Thank You
Hope that I've produced sufficient information, pardon me for not able to post the coding.
Once again thank you |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 4:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
2033 No messages matching selected criteria available....
If this is not the case you need to check a few points
- before each MQGET do you set messageId to MQC.MQMI_NONE or the appropriate value for a messageId specific get. ?
- before each MQGET do you set correlationId to MQC.MQCI_NONE or the appropriate value for a correlationId specific get. ?
- what are your get options? check them and review them.
Last but not least remember that you can only retrieve messages from a queue that is declared as a "queue local" in the queue manager you are connected to. So make sure that your connection is right...
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 5:31 am Post subject: Re: System Configuration or Code Re-modfication |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
sg_ric wrote: |
Problem :
The legacy app residing at the client machine could not function as before, and i managed to trace the error and the error is CWSMQ0006E, Reason code: 2033.
|
I would be surprised and interested to discover that an upgrade could cause a 2033 error. There's certainly no changes needed to run a v7 client against a v6 server. I'd ask about app changes first, and see what messages are actually available on the queue. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sg_ric |
Posted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 8:22 pm Post subject: Re: System Configuration or Code Re-modfication |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 04 Jan 2009 Posts: 13
|
Hi,
Firstly thank you for ur replies. Took your valuable comments and went to read up the documentation on the coding (the best i can get), I did not get to see any messageId or correlationId stuff in the documentation (or is not stated in the docs, or i presume is using the default, er.. wats the default) but I found out in my reading that the system is using a publish/subscribing to a JMS, does this information give another insight.
Vitor:
I saw the msgflow diagram depicting a pub/sub model, i dun see a queue for it, how can i peek at the message.
Thank you. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:48 pm Post subject: Re: System Configuration or Code Re-modfication |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
sg_ric wrote: |
Hi,
Firstly thank you for ur replies. Took your valuable comments and went to read up the documentation on the coding (the best i can get), I did not get to see any messageId or correlationId stuff in the documentation (or is not stated in the docs, or i presume is using the default, er.. wats the default) but I found out in my reading that the system is using a publish/subscribing to a JMS, does this information give another insight.
Vitor:
I saw the msgflow diagram depicting a pub/sub model, i dun see a queue for it, how can i peek at the message.
Thank you. |
Are you aware that pub/sub has substantially changed between V6 and V7.
As your server is V6 you cannot take advantage of any of the V7 features.
The destination queue for pub/sub is defined in the subscription topic.
Best way to look at the subscription topics is to use a file based JNDI and print out the retrieved subscription topic. It should give you a generic idea on how to build your subscription topic uri.
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sg_ric |
Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:12 am Post subject: Re: System Configuration or Code Re-modfication |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 04 Jan 2009 Posts: 13
|
Hi fjb_saper,
I understand that the V7 had great improvement over V6, read from the IBM official announcement but company polices rules (sigh).
Your prev msg:
Best way to look at the subscription topics is to use a file based JNDI and print out the retrieved subscription topic. It should give you a generic idea on how to build your subscription topic uri.
Question:
1. Can I really conclude that V7 Client is totally incompatible with codes written for V6 Client, minor or major changes is needed? So far, there is no changes made to the existing topic, the publishing app is residing in the same as the server side furthermore I do not have the rights accessing the server currently (authorization still pending, zzzz).
2. Another issue is that will the same legacy software still work if both server end and client end upgraded to V7. As MQ server software is not free, therefore would like to ensure as minimal changes as possible.
Thank You |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 11:53 am Post subject: Re: System Configuration or Code Re-modfication |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
sg_ric wrote: |
Hi fjb_saper,
I understand that the V7 had great improvement over V6, read from the IBM official announcement but company polices rules (sigh).
Your prev msg:
Best way to look at the subscription topics is to use a file based JNDI and print out the retrieved subscription topic. It should give you a generic idea on how to build your subscription topic uri.
Question:
1. Can I really conclude that V7 Client is totally incompatible with codes written for V6 Client, minor or major changes is needed? So far, there is no changes made to the existing topic, the publishing app is residing in the same as the server side furthermore I do not have the rights accessing the server currently (authorization still pending, zzzz).
2. Another issue is that will the same legacy software still work if both server end and client end upgraded to V7. As MQ server software is not free, therefore would like to ensure as minimal changes as possible.
Thank You |
The main reason you have DEV and QA environments is to test this stuff before it goes to production.
This said you should be able to use V7 just like V6. You might have to set some compatibility mode though....
Have fun and let us know... _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9472 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Quote: |
Question:
1. Can I really conclude that V7 Client is totally incompatible with codes written for V6 Client, minor or major changes is needed? |
Your v6 client applications should work perfectly (unchanged) when accessing a v7 qmgr. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sg_ric |
Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 04 Jan 2009 Posts: 13
|
bruce2359 wrote: |
Quote: |
Question:
1. Can I really conclude that V7 Client is totally incompatible with codes written for V6 Client, minor or major changes is needed? |
Your v6 client applications should work perfectly (unchanged) when accessing a v7 qmgr. |
Hi thank you for ur interest in this topic. The idea is using a V7 Client to connect to a V6 Server and not the other way. Currently looking at the sample code given by the V7 client pub/sub, comparing the differences between my company and the sample code.
Do post here if any insight discovered. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 8:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9472 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Quote: |
The idea is using a V7 Client to connect to a V6 Server |
Same answer. V7 client applications can connect without modification to V6 servers. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 9:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
bruce2359 wrote: |
Quote: |
The idea is using a V7 Client to connect to a V6 Server |
Same answer. V7 client applications can connect without modification to V6 servers. |
Unless the V7 client has been coded to use features/options only found in V7 Queue Managers. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 2:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sg_ric |
Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 8:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 04 Jan 2009 Posts: 13
|
Hi all,
After debugging/breaking point lines of codes, found something.
The Error 2033 seem to be cause by the IMessageConsumer or ISession object. (using the sample from the XMS_Client.pdf (v1.2.4 page 78 from v6 n port to v7 enivronment n test).
It seem that the fault lies in the driver and not on the V7 client installation, statement based on the library using IBM.XMS and not amqxxx, correct me if im wrong.
Back to the objects listed in para2, the exception was thrown when the following statement tries to execute, session.CreateConsumer(topic), this will cause the Error: CWSMQ0006E, 2033.
A bit off track, I had removed the session.createxxx statement and jump to the connection.start, it worked as in no exception was thrown, can i slightly conclude that actually V7 is able to connect to V6 server, though a more firm conclusion will be actually receiving a msg from the MQs. This makes me wonder what is the relationship between the MQC7_win and the IBM Message Service Client for .Net.
Still looking into the matter, will update if any interesting findings found. Hope that this will further bring in another area of discussion.
Cheers!!!! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 3:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Verify if XMS has been released for V7 yet. Verify if you can set the providerVersion property of the qcf/tcf in the V7 client.
Have fun.  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sg_ric |
Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 04 Jan 2009 Posts: 13
|
fjb_saper wrote: |
Verify if XMS has been released for V7 yet. Verify if you can set the providerVersion property of the qcf/tcf in the V7 client.
Have fun.  |
Have done a check on IBM website
http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?rs=171&uid=swg24011756&loc=en_US&cs=utf-8&lang=en
Extract from the above link
DETAILS
Author: WebSphere Messaging Clients Project Team, Hursley
Category: 3
Released: 11Apr06 (as Cat2)
Last updated: 27Jun08
Current Version: 1.2.6.0
Some ambiguity on the right pane of the webpage under the software version, it stated 5.0, 6.0. I wonder which software is it referring to is it the Messaging Client or the MQ Server?
If it is referring to the client then guess that will have to wait for IBM to release new XMS version.
Will try and set the providerVersion, result will be posted at a later time.
BTW is there anyway to contact the websphere messaging client project team, just to state my little finding to them.

Last edited by sg_ric on Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:21 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|