Author |
Message
|
RocknRambo |
Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 2:36 pm Post subject: Compute/JCN |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 24 Sep 2003 Posts: 355
|
Can we execute an application from compute or JCN ?
the scenario we have, based on a condition execute an external application with certain parameters.
Any pointing would be appreciated.
-RR |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vaibhav_vy |
Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 8:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 04 Aug 2008 Posts: 28
|
Do you want to execute any application/ windows, AIX command from compute node or JCN or do you want to execute database stored procedure or Java method ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
AkankshA |
Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 10:42 pm Post subject: Re: Compute/JCN |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 12 Jan 2006 Posts: 1494 Location: Singapore
|
RocknRambo wrote: |
Can we execute an application from compute or JCN ?
the scenario we have, based on a condition execute an external application with certain parameters.
Any pointing would be appreciated.
-RR |
depends on what type your application is...
my view is we can do almost all things in compute node as we can in JCN... _________________ Cheers |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 3:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
There is no way to call external applications from ESQL.
You can do it in Java. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RocknRambo |
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 7:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 24 Sep 2003 Posts: 355
|
I want to execute an application in unix (.sh) with some parameters.
Ex: like, if we login into a unix machine and execute a script to put a message in queue.
Thanks
-RR |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 9:14 am Post subject: Why? |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
To Quote
[quote]Ex: like, if we login into a unix machine and execute a script to put a message in queue. [/quote]
Eh? You already have WMQ running so why don't you just connect the Broker Queue Manager to the 'unix' system queue manager with a sender/receiver channel and then write your message to a remote queue which in turn points to the queue you would have written your message to after your login on the Unix Box? _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RocknRambo |
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 9:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 24 Sep 2003 Posts: 355
|
Sorry didn't phrase it correctly. putting a message in queue was a example to describe a script I want to execute with parameters in the flow.
the requirement I have is, execute a stand-alone application after database insertion, which is shell script.
hope I made bit clear.
Thanks
-RR |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
broker_new |
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 3:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Yatiri
Joined: 30 Nov 2006 Posts: 614 Location: Washington DC
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sridhsri |
Posted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 5:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 19 Jun 2008 Posts: 297
|
You could consider using trigger monitors. MQ supports the execution of applications/scripts. After your database operation, you coud put a message on a queue. The MQ Trigger monitor can then execute the shell script on arrival of the message. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Maximreality |
Posted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 6:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 04 Jun 2004 Posts: 65 Location: Copenhagen
|
RocknRambo wrote: |
Sorry didn't phrase it correctly. putting a message in queue was a example to describe a script I want to execute with parameters in the flow.
the requirement I have is, execute a stand-alone application after database insertion, which is shell script.
hope I made bit clear.
Thanks
-RR |
You need to think this over...
You need to do commit in JCN to make sure db is updated before running the shell script, what happens if a subsequent part of the message flow fails? (you might get an updated db and definetly an error in your log)
I would rather try to find a solution to trigger the shell script after the broker transaction is done sucessfully (maybe triggered by MQ).
Also consider if your shell script could be implemented as a trigger on the table when inserting a row or part of a stored procedure....
/Rasmus |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RocknRambo |
Posted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 8:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 24 Sep 2003 Posts: 355
|
broker_new: Thanks, thats the exact functionality I'm looking for, I read supportpac is a Java based plugin, wondering can't we do using the JCN?
and thanks to other folks, yes agree one other option would be trigger monitor. Also looking for a way to do it from a message flow.
were you able to use the supporpac successfully? any issues/concerns you can share.
Thanks
-RR |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|