Author |
Message
|
Sunntu |
Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2002 1:36 am Post subject: Conversion from EBCDIC to ASCII |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 11
|
Hi,
We have an application running on OS/390 and placing messages in AIX. We do not employ any conversion in this case. This set up works just fine.
But when we ran our application program on a different S390 and AIX, the messages that arrive in the AIX were of EBCDIC format. Why would this happen and why did this not arise in our case ? Is there something like a "built-in" character set encoding which was recognized on the first AIX and not built-in in the second one.
The queue in which the messages are placed will contain ASCII and EBCDIC messages. So would that be a problem when I supply an MQGMO_CONVERT option for the MQGET from the queue ?
And if I have to do the conversion would the following steps suffice :
1. On MQPUT on the S390, set the mqmd.Format to MQFMT_STRING
2. On MQGET on the AIX, set the mqgmo.Options = MQGMO_CONVERT
The data in the message is only character, no numeric or binary data is involved.
The problem is that we cannot test it from here since we are unable to re-create the exact problem. And that is why the question as to whether this would work.
Thanks in Advance
Sundari |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kirani |
Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2002 7:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 05 Sep 2001 Posts: 3779 Location: Torrance, CA, USA
|
Sundari,
Do you have any Channel exit or have set the CONVERSION property of the channel to YES on the first box?
Sunntu wrote: |
The queue in which the messages are placed will contain ASCII and EBCDIC messages. So would that be a problem when I supply an MQGMO_CONVERT option for the MQGET from the queue ?
|
No, it will not be a problem.
Sunntu wrote: |
And if I have to do the conversion would the following steps suffice :
1. On MQPUT on the S390, set the mqmd.Format to MQFMT_STRING
2. On MQGET on the AIX, set the mqgmo.Options = MQGMO_CONVERT
|
Yes. _________________ Kiran
IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Mon Sep 23, 2002 5:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
It's good practice to code your MQGET with CONVERT, that way the application is more portable and it won't matter if the messages come from a mainframe or other type of system. As you correctly state this requires the message to have a string format.
Converting formats on the channel is rather old-fashioned and can lead to multiple conversions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
udaybho |
Posted: Tue Sep 24, 2002 9:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 09 May 2002 Posts: 94 Location: Chicago
|
I will pay attention to the CCSID.
In a MQ Message the header on the top decides the CCSID of the header or data next in stack. Guys correct me if I am wrong.
So if you have message which looks something like this
MQMD-MQRFH-MQFH2-DATA
then you have to make sure that the CCSID of your MQRFH2 header is proper for your system for the data to get converted into EBCIDIC to ASCII.
Hope this helps.
Uday |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Wed Sep 25, 2002 12:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
Some older versions of MQSeries on the mainframe don't support UNICODE CCSID for example for conversion to EBCDIC.
So it's safer to use ASCII from Java programs in this situation. However if the MQSeries version is recent, just about all CCSIDs should work, there is a table somewhere in one of the manuals listing them. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Remco |
Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 5:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 19 Mar 2002 Posts: 68 Location: Capelle aan den IJssel (Rotterdam)
|
Ok.....
Quote: |
Some older versions of MQSeries on the mainframe don't support UNICODE CCSID |
Can anyone tell me if V2R1.0 is an older version which doesn't support UNICODE to EBCDIC conversion ????
Thanks..... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|