Author |
Message
|
sanketpatel |
Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 2:32 am Post subject: Is it possible to call any exe from ESQL? |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 31 Oct 2006 Posts: 40
|
Is it possible to call an exe from esql....
its urgent.....
somebody help me? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastianhirt |
Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 2:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yatiri
Joined: 07 Jun 2004 Posts: 620 Location: Germany
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 2:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
If you're using v6 (and I seem to remember from previous posts that you are) you can use custom Java jar files, but not an exe directly that I'm aware of.
I stand ready to be corrected obviously.
Perhaps if you told us more about your problem we could offer an alternative solution, rather than just telling you your proposed solution won't work...  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Last edited by Vitor on Wed Nov 08, 2006 3:00 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Edde |
Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 2:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 01 Oct 2006 Posts: 67 Location: Moscow, Russia
|
We have a custom node to call external .exe, but it was written for broker v5.0.
I think it is possible to call .exe from Java Compute Node in v6, but i'm not sure. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sanketpatel |
Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 2:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 31 Oct 2006 Posts: 40
|
i have some .net exe and .pl files which are there for master data updation.
and the condition is some value chanes in our local system and now that change i have configure in message broker and that will call .net exe and .pl files.
is it possible to achive this? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PieterV |
Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 2:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Disciple
Joined: 04 Jan 2006 Posts: 164 Location: Belgium
|
i once used the java compute node to execute a script on unix.
it looked like this:
Code: |
try
{
Runtime.getRuntime().exec(command);
}
catch(Exception ioe)
{
System.err.println("fault");
} |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 3:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Or you could get the flow to dump a message into a triggered queue and fire the external exes that way. Depends on how they fit into the flow. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastianhirt |
Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 3:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yatiri
Joined: 07 Jun 2004 Posts: 620 Location: Germany
|
Vitor wrote: |
Or you could get the flow to dump a message into a triggered queue and fire the external exes that way. Depends on how they fit into the flow. |
That's what I thought about as well. But the Java Compute node seems to me to be the cuter solution. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 3:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
sebastianhirt wrote: |
Vitor wrote: |
Or you could get the flow to dump a message into a triggered queue and fire the external exes that way. Depends on how they fit into the flow. |
That's what I thought about as well. But the Java Compute node seems to me to be the cuter solution. |
It certainly does keep it all in one box as it were. Does the node deal with the application error in this scenario, i.e. if the exe goes belly up is it thrown back to the flow in the normal way? And can you maintain transactional unit of work with this method?
("I don't know", "I don't care", "I've never tried it" are all acceptable answers - I'm just curious!) _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 3:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
I would say the triggered MQ approach is the more stable one for the broker... Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|