Author |
Message
|
Sridar |
Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 1:22 am Post subject: [Solved]Use of AND and OR in IF |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 14 May 2006 Posts: 72 Location: Chennai, India
|
Hi
I am trying to use the following type of Condition but it is not working out for me.
IF ((CONDN_A) OR ((CONDN_B) AND (CONDN_C)))
STMTS..
ELSE IF ((CONDN_E) AND (CONDN_F))
STMTS..
END IF;
END IF;
It skips both cases even if one of them is true.
Is there any other way out other than using a Nested IF Else? _________________ Thanks and Regards
Sridar
Last edited by Sridar on Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:53 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 2:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Have you used the debugger to verify that your conditions actually evaluate to TRUE?
Also, I would have coded ELSEIF ....
Lastly, a user trace would show intermediate results on the evaluations..... _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sridar |
Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 14 May 2006 Posts: 72 Location: Chennai, India
|
The Problem is now resolved.
Actually the problem was with the way was accessing an attribute in the condition.
I had given Element.(XML.attr)Attribute.
When i removed the (XML.attr) it was working fine. i.e. Element.Attribute.
The IBM documents howewer say we need to use (XML.attr).
Can anyone advise? _________________ Thanks and Regards
Sridar |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 4:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
No, we can't advise. You haven't told us what you're actually trying to do in enough detail.
(XML.Attribute) is only a valid qualifier in one of the XML domains - XML, XMLNS, XMLNSC. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sridar |
Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 5:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 14 May 2006 Posts: 72 Location: Chennai, India
|
Hi
I am using an XML format message and an MRM parser.
The MB Version is 5.0.
I am trying to access the attribute aand compare its value and appropriately do the necessary mappings. _________________ Thanks and Regards
Sridar |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 6:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Is "an MRM Parser" one of the XML domains that I listed? _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
msukup |
Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 12:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 11 Feb 2002 Posts: 56
|
Sridar,
If one of the values that you are evaluating is NULL, then it may not evaluate expression correctly . . . NULL is neither true nor false.
So this means that the "condition" is not evaluating correctly. What is the condition? How are you accessing the attribute? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jbanoop |
Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 12:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 17 Sep 2005 Posts: 401 Location: SC
|
try the debugger..i have a strong hunch it will solve your issue..
Anoop |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kimbert |
Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 29 Jul 2003 Posts: 5542 Location: Southampton
|
Quote: |
I had given Element.(XML.attr)Attribute.
When i removed the (XML.attr) it was working fine. i.e. Element.Attribute.
The IBM documents howewer say we need to use (XML.attr). |
Not quite true. The IBM documents say that in the topics which describe the XML, XMLNS and XMLNSC domains. ( look at Jeff's comments earlier in this thread ).
You cannot ( and do not need to ) use XML.attr when you are using the MRM parser. See this thread for the reason why: http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=31673&highlight=xml+mrm |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sridar |
Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 14 May 2006 Posts: 72 Location: Chennai, India
|
Thanks Kimbert
That link provided some input.
Thanks All _________________ Thanks and Regards
Sridar |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|