Author |
Message
|
ydsk |
Posted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 7:46 pm Post subject: cobol input msg length more than copybook |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 23 May 2005 Posts: 410
|
My WMB v6 msgflow looks like:
Cobol input ------>msgflow--------->soap output
My copybook is 390 bytes and I am testing failure scenarios with error messages( more/less than 390 bytes) but irrespective of the actual length the messages seem to be going to the output queue (successful always ).
Can someone pls tell me how I can make the msgflow fail when the length of input message is more/less than its copybook ( assume all fields are PIC X).
Thanks.
ydsk. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 2:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Did you set the input / compute node verify property to contentAndValue ?
What is the parse property? If as needed you may never parse the rest of the input message (part past the copy book).
 _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ydsk |
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 9:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 23 May 2005 Posts: 410
|
I changed the validation to 'Contentand Value' on input node and compute node but that didn't help.
Which parse options do I need to change ? The parse options on the input/compute nodes are for incoming xml but mine is incoming cobol.
Someone please help me here. My msgflow needs to fail when the incoming cobol msg length is more/less than its copybook.
Thanks.
ydsk. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wbi_telecom |
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 9:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 15 Feb 2006 Posts: 188 Location: Harrisburg, PA
|
Have you given the message set, message format and message type in the input node along with the contnet and value validation? The cotent and value validation should work for MRM as well.
Cheers, |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ydsk |
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 10:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 23 May 2005 Posts: 410
|
Yes, I gave the domain,set,type , format in MQInput node and that's how the msgflow is processing messages.
I think I am missing some simple thing here but don't know what it is.
Someone please help.
Thanks.
ydsk. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 2:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Add full parsing at input node time instead of just in time.
Let us know if that worked for you.
 _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ydsk |
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 3:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 23 May 2005 Posts: 410
|
On the MQInput node I changed the parsing to 'complete' and now the message is going thru the Failure terminal connected to the MQInput node.
But how can I make the Message and Exceptionlist go through the catch terminal of the MQInput node ?
I have a database node connected to the Catch terminal of MQInput node that logs some fields into a database. I want to use it to log all errors.
With the parse/validate settings on MQInput node as suggested the msg goes thru the Failure terminal if it is connected or it foes to DeadLetter queue. It doesn't go thru the Catch terminal as I want it to.
Any ideas please.
thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 3:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Try leaving the parsing as needed on the input node but set it to complete on the first node beyond the input node.
See what you get. _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ydsk |
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 3:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 23 May 2005 Posts: 410
|
yep, i already tried it before your last post but it didn't help. I was surprised why the same parse/validation settings worked on the MQInput node but didn't work on the compute node immediately after the MQInput node.
Any hints ?
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 3:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
ydsk wrote: |
yep, i already tried it before your last post but it didn't help. I was surprised why the same parse/validation settings worked on the MQInput node but didn't work on the compute node immediately after the MQInput node.
Any hints ?
Thanks. |
Because it checks the output of the node?
Try inserting a validate node inbetween. (Or a pass through node?) _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ydsk |
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 4:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 23 May 2005 Posts: 410
|
With a validate node in between the MQInput node and the compute node wired to Out terminal, the msg is going to the DeadLetter Queue since the Failure terminal of the MQInput node isn't connected.
But I want it to go thru the Catch terminal of the MQInput node. Don't know how it can be done. It's driving me crazy.
I don't know how a Passthru node would help here.
Any more hints ?
I wonder if this issue wasn't faced by anyone so far. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ydsk |
Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 7:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 23 May 2005 Posts: 410
|
sorry, inserting a validation node worked.
There was an issue with the ESQL in the database node and that was the whole problem.
Thanks for your all your suggestions.
ydsk. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|