Author |
Message
|
James_O_K |
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 3:25 am Post subject: "Object In Use" error when clearing a queue |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 09 Mar 2006 Posts: 39 Location: UK
|
I am getting this error "AMQ8148: MQSeries object in use." When trying to clear a queue and would like to know how to find out what it is that is using the queue. In MQ5.3 I know you can use the dis qstatus( ) command. Is there something that I can do in 5.2 to mimic this?
Cheers all.
James. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sandiksk |
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 4:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 08 Jun 2005 Posts: 133
|
One thing you can do is do an display queue and check and see if it has a trigdata or process. If it has a process its probably the channel and if it has a process then you could display the pprocess and see the application id. Stop that application and clear the queue. Do a search on this forumn on clearing a queue that is opened for i/p or o/p. Its been discussed many times.  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dutchman |
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 4:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 71 Location: Netherlands
|
Hi - are you clearing the queue using runmqsc and 'clear ql'?
If so, using your own program doing destructive MQGETs should probably work ok. Here is a 'demonstration' - forgive me if I'm 'preaching to the converted...'
vanzunru:xldn0134dap /sbcdata/apps/mq > runmqsc RUUD_LINEAR
5724-B41 (C) Copyright IBM Corp. 1994, 2002. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
Starting MQSC for queue manager RUUD_LINEAR.
clear ql(SYSTEM.DEFAULT.LOCAL.QUEUE)
1 : clear ql(SYSTEM.DEFAULT.LOCAL.QUEUE)
AMQ8148: WebSphere MQ object in use.
end
2 : end
One MQSC command read.
No commands have a syntax error.
One valid MQSC command could not be processed.
vanzunru:xldn0134dap /sbcdata/apps/mq > qclear SYSTEM.DEFAULT.LOCAL.QUEUE RUUD_LINEAR
qclear start - to empty out an MQ queue even if it is 'in use'.
It can also be used to SELECTIVELY delete a number of messages.
No. of messages browsed : 0
No. of messages skipped : 0
No. of messages deleted : 3
*** qclear end.
To answer your original question, sorry, not sure how to find out who/what has this queue open under V5.2 - good excuse to go straight to V6
R |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
James_O_K |
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 09 Mar 2006 Posts: 39 Location: UK
|
Thanks Dutchman. That actually what I am doing. I have a java routine that will just pop all the messages off the queue and then finish. Guess i need to compile it and bung it on the AIX machine, rather than running from my pc! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 6:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Please upgrade to a supported version of MQ, also. 5.2 is so out of date. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
James_O_K |
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 6:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 09 Mar 2006 Posts: 39 Location: UK
|
jefflowrey wrote: |
Please upgrade to a supported version of MQ, also. 5.2 is so out of date. |
Would if i could. I dont have access to the machine. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
belchman |
Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 5:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 31 Mar 2006 Posts: 386 Location: Ohio, USA
|
You can use the MQ Monitor application that is supplied an an MQ Support Pac to check queue usage. It will show you what executable file has handles on a particular queue. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|