|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
SYSTEM.ADMIN.CHANNEL.EVENT messages |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
Toronto_MQ |
Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 11:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 10 Jul 2002 Posts: 263 Location: read my name
|
Use MQSC against the queue manager (option 26) and do a:
dis qstatus(SYSTEM.ADMIN.CHANNEL.EVENT)
This should give you something similar to the following:
> dis qstatus(SYSTEM.ADMIN.CHANNEL.EVENT)
1 : dis qstatus(SYSTEM.ADMIN.CHANNEL.EVENT)
AMQ8450: Display queue status details.
QUEUE(SYSTEM.ADMIN.CHANNEL.EVENT) IPPROCS(0)
OPPROCS(0) CURDEPTH(12)
UNCOM(NO)
If UNCOM is set to NO, then you have no uncommited messages. If it is set to yes, then your next option is to use WRKMQMTRN to resolve these uncommitted UOWs - or perhaps a queue manager cycle. I'd be surprised to see uncommitted messages in there. If there are, I would open a problem with IBM.
I'm still puzzled that it shows a depth of 3000 and a 'work with messages' only gives you 49 messages... maybe try to get an actual browse of the queue to dismiss a problem with the panels? Use:
CALL PGM(QMQM/AMQSBCG4) PARM(SYSTEM.ADMIN.CHANNEL.EVENT qmgr_name)
- you'll probably want to output this to a file somewhere, otherwise it will run through and browse all possible 3000 messages and dump the output to the screen...
Steve |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Toronto_MQ |
Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 11:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 10 Jul 2002 Posts: 263 Location: read my name
|
Hmmm... strange, but I think I see your problem. When I do a "work with messages" on a queue that has 800+ messages on it I get 7 pages worth of messages, each page showing 7 messages (actually the last shows only 6 messages). So maybe a "work with messages" will only work with the first 48 messages on the queue, similar to the Windows 5.3 Explorer that only displays the first 200 messages on the queue?
I'm quite confident that your queue actually has 3000 messages on it... it's quite common for this queue to fill if you don't have an MQ systems management tool. You may as well just clear it and either a) disable events at the queue manager level or b) set the maxdepth of the queue to 0.
If you really want to ensure that there are 3K messages on there run that AMQSBCG4 program. But be warned it will run for quite some time! Took about a minute for 120 messages on mine.
Cheers
Steve |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
omodarah |
Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 12:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 09 Sep 2004 Posts: 26
|
jefflowrey wrote: |
omodarah wrote: |
Jeff, I checked the Queue before I had a few Beers and then I checked again afterwards and their were still only 49 messages. I'd like to think at this point in my life I know when to use Page Down. |
Sometimes these panels get tricky, and using Page Down isn't always the right thing - there might be a Next Page button and etc... And I have seen people ask a similar question, where the problem really was that they hadn't noticed that there were more results available.
And it is hard to tell how confused someone is or how much or little experience they have.
It would seem odd for there to be uncommitted messages in SYSTEM.ADMIN.CHANNEL.EVENT. Do you have a monitoring tool that tries to get these, and is leaving them in an uncommited state? Did you ask IBM how there could be uncommitted messages in this queue?
Also, there are some tools (at least on distributed, I don't know about iSeries) for forcing transactions to commit or rollback. You might dig into your iSeries manuals and see what's available, or follow up in your PMR. |
Jeff,
Sorry for my sarcasm, but my Novice status ends with MQ. Anyway I think you may have "Hit the Nail on the Head" we do have Sitescope monitoring, but it is in the hands of another Team, so I was hoping I wouldnt have to delve into its workings, but I am left with no choice now. I will let you know what the outcome is on this...
Thanks for your help. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 12:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
As per Toronto_MQ above, check that there are uncommitted messages on the queue first - using option 26. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Toronto_MQ |
Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 1:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 10 Jul 2002 Posts: 263 Location: read my name
|
The fact that your IPPROCS are 0 lead me to believe that SiteScope is not monitoring this queue... but always safer to check.
I wonder if the panels only showing the first 48 (or 49) messages is a bug or WAD?
Steve |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|