Author |
Message
|
kapil.soni |
Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 1:02 am Post subject: regarding Workflow APIs |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 03 Nov 2005 Posts: 4
|
hi all,
1) currently i am using version 3.5.
2) i have RAD and Eclipse installed on my machine.
3) worfflow server is installed on other machine , i have some applications which are using WF APIs.
*why i need "native java API".
*is it possible to run them there from my machine?
* these application using "Agent" for calling services . can i access workflow API without "Agent"?how? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hos |
Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 8:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 03 Feb 2002 Posts: 470
|
Hi,
there is a lot of misconception in your append that cannot be resolved with a single response in this forum javascript:emoticon(' ')
javascript:emoticon(' ')
Basically you don't need native Java API in order to run a MQWF Java API program against an MQWF server. But it makes things easier and you might need some simplification if you want to run an MQWF client from RAD javascript:emoticon(' ')
javascript:emoticon(' ')
If you have installed and configured Native Java API on your client machine, make sure that you use the MQClient interface. Now you provide the native Java API
to your client program as RAD dependency.
Quote: |
these application using "Agent" for calling services |
I suppose you mean that your applications used RMI/IOOP communication to a remote MQWF client box. This is no longer supported. You should have an MQ Client istallation on the machine where your programs are located.
Good Luck! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kapil.soni |
Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 8:10 pm Post subject: native Java API |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 03 Nov 2005 Posts: 4
|
Hi Hos,
Quote: |
Basically you don't need native Java API in order to run a MQWF Java API program against an MQWF server. But it makes things easier and you might need some simplification |
I am unable to understand why it is easier to use native API?Is pure API is also available, any document for reference?
Quote: |
I suppose you mean that your applications used RMI/IOOP communication to a remote MQWF client box. This is no longer supported. You should have an MQ Client istallation on the machine where your programs are located. |
No, to make it simple let us say I want to call MQWF server from my EJB/App. server, Then do still I will have to use Java Agent?Can I avoid it?
I am not getting a clear picture from PDF for programming.
Thanks.[/quote] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hos |
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 6:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 03 Feb 2002 Posts: 470
|
Hi,
when you use the Native Java API you do not need to care about the proper access to the MQWF C++ API libraries. In addition you do not have the restriction that only one application can use the API in an AppServer.
The Agent class is the factory that provides you access to all other MQWF objects, like ExecutionService. It is the root entry of the API.
I suggest to download SupportPack WA03 that contains an EJB example that uses MQWF API. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
karthik |
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 7:55 am Post subject: how easy to port to Native JAPI |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 17 Oct 2003 Posts: 114
|
Hi Hos,
Not much related to what kapil is asking exactly , but something related to native JAPI.
If we have a custom web-client on 3.5 using fmcojagt.jar , and the customization is not too much except for a few JSP's , then what needs to be done to make the application start using the native JAPI.
Would just making native JAPI part of the AppServer classpath (after using JACA tool) , sufficient enough and we would not need any other API calls to be changed etc;
And last question is .. when we install 3.5 , how can we get a list of API calls we can use with native JAPI.
Thanks
Karthik |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hos |
Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 03 Feb 2002 Posts: 470
|
Karthik,
the Native Java API is of course compatible to the classic Java API. The API documentation (Javadoc) is the same and the few differences are documented when you download the Native Java API. So yes, you do not have to change your existing WebApp when you switch to the Native Java API. However make sure that you do not use both APIs in the same AppServer, i.e. remove any reference to fomojagt.jar in your AppServer. To be on the safe side, rename fmcojagt.jar.
It is recommended to give the AppServer access to the API by placing it into WebInf/lib of your client instead of setting the JVM CLASSPATH. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|