Author |
Message
|
voss23 |
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 6:25 am Post subject: .NET .dll error code 2012 install question |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 27 Sep 2005 Posts: 7
|
We have been testing without problems in our test enviroment using the trial version of MQSeries and the .net library version 1.0.0.3. Now we are trying to test at the client site and we are getting errors. Even when trying to make a simple cmd line api call like "amqscnxc -x ip.address" we get error 2012. Any ideas and we have installed anything new on the server (AS/400) MQSeries box. Do we need to do anything to that and is there only a certain version that is compatibil with the new .NET api?
Thanks for any guidance. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 6:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Did you actually install the MQ Client or an MQ Server on the machine you're using at the client site?
The .NET api is not standalone, like the Java API. You have to have the MQ Client or the MQ Server installed on the machine that is running the MQ code.
Did you install a correct version of MQ? At least v5.3, CSD5 - the latest CSD is preferred. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
voss23 |
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 9:05 am Post subject: client/server |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 27 Sep 2005 Posts: 7
|
In our local test enviroment that works we installed the .net MQ Client & Server on the test server box with the trial version of MQSeries and just the client tools on our local dev machines.
In the new enviorment we have a windows server with the Client tools installed and a server (AS400) with MQSeries (5.307 CSD07). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 9:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
What version is the client on the Windows machine at? _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
voss23 |
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 9:27 am Post subject: Websphere for windows version 6.0 |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 27 Sep 2005 Posts: 7
|
Websphere for windows version 6.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jasonJonas |
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 1:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 07 Sep 2005 Posts: 10
|
i'm new around here and still have a helluva lot to learn about mq and everything that goes along with it, but what the hell...
it seems it's an environment issue manifest in the fact you're running a 6.0 client against a 5.3 server. have you tried installing the 5.3 client? i would give that a shot before spinning cycles on anything else.
jason |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 4:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
contact admin wrote: |
it seems it's an environment issue manifest in the fact you're running a 6.0 client against a 5.3 server. have you tried installing the 5.3 client? i would give that a shot before spinning cycles on anything else. |
This is good, but a v6 client should be backward compatible with a v5.3 qmgr.
And the other way around, too.
It could be that he wrote his program and bound it against the v5.3 .NET library, and is now trying to use the v6 DLL with it instead. That might not work so well. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jasonJonas |
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 4:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 07 Sep 2005 Posts: 10
|
jefflowrey wrote: |
This is good, but a v6 client should be backward compatible with a v5.3 qmgr.
And the other way around, too. |
hmmm... interesting that a 5.3 client would be upward compatible, but i reckon it's contingent on the specific parts of the api used. it seems logical that the basic comm protocols would be consistent or at least be able to negotiate a proper protocol between them.
jefflowrey wrote: |
It could be that he wrote his program and bound it against the v5.3 .NET library, and is now trying to use the v6 DLL with it instead. That might not work so well. |
i'm a java-man reluctantly and temporarily turned .net-dude so i could be off-base here... the .net dll is merely a layer over the underlying mq client libraries and i don't believe the .net dll's interface has changed dramatically between 5.3 & 6. if it has, his program would be spewing .net runtime exceptions specific to dll incompatibilities regarding the expected method signatures on the loaded .net dll. as it is, the program is getting through the .net interface layer, making calls to the mq client libs which in turn make calls to the 5.3 server resulting in some type of comm failure.
his dev environment was 6-to-6. his test environment is 6-to-5.3.
i would encourage voss to develop in an environment that mimicks as closely as possible the test/prod environment. while mimicking specific platforms may be an issue, mimicking client/server versions isn't and is the first place to start.
yo, voss! you out there? have you tried stepping your client down to 5.3?
thanks for the feedback, jeff. it's comforting knowing this forum exists where seasoned people offer their time and knowledge to dialogue with the rest of us. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 4:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
contact admin wrote: |
hmmm... interesting that a 5.3 client would be upward compatible, but i reckon it's contingent on the specific parts of the api used. it seems logical that the basic comm protocols would be consistent or at least be able to negotiate a proper protocol between them. |
No, I think that v6 is backwards compatible both in the client and in the server. The v5.3 client would have no knowledge of v6. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
voss23 |
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 4:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 27 Sep 2005 Posts: 7
|
Guys thanks for all the feedback. I'll keep trying different things, but we really don't have that much control over the clients current enviroment other than they have opened up the IP/Firewall and have the correct admin rights setup.
thanks again. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jasonJonas |
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 5:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 07 Sep 2005 Posts: 10
|
voss23 wrote: |
I'll keep trying different things, but we really don't have that much control over the clients current enviroment other than they have opened up the IP/Firewall and have the correct admin rights setup. |
so this has me believing the client program is running at your site and using a remote server at your client's site, right? if so and you can actually comm with the remote server, then you should be able to install the 5.3 mq client on your test box and run your software against their 5.3 server.
jason |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
voss23 |
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 8:05 am Post subject: Windows Clent to AS400 |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 27 Sep 2005 Posts: 7
|
Does it matter that we are trying to communicate from a windows cient to AS400 MQSeries? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 9:23 am Post subject: Re: Windows Clent to AS400 |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
voss23 wrote: |
Does it matter that we are trying to communicate from a windows cient to AS400 MQSeries? |
No.
Your error directly relates only to issues with the .NET code. Either you are linking against the wrong thing, or you are trying to do two-phase commit with a client connection. At least, this is the way I read the error message. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
voss23 |
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 9:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 27 Sep 2005 Posts: 7
|
Jeff,
Sorry to bother u again. Is there any thing special we need to do on the AS400 end (channel or security) from a setup standpoing to allow it to be able to receive .net api calls?
any links?
thanks again. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 10:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
It's not an issue on the AS400 end, I think.
Confirm that you can establish a connection using something like amqsput. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|