ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General Discussion » Basic MQ settings : need help

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Basic MQ settings : need help « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
nicomede
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:43 pm    Post subject: Basic MQ settings : need help Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 09 Jul 2003
Posts: 7

Could anyone explain how I can set my 2 queue managers to make then communicate. (as this is a test, my QM are on the same machine/ same MQ. I guess there's no problem with such a config)

I have a JMS prog that should send a message in binding mode to a local queue. I'd like that message to be forward to the other QM via a send channel ... idem for receiving.


PS : thanks to ashgove, JeffLowrey, EddieA for your precious help last week !

N.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morpheus
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2003 12:02 am    Post subject: QMs communication Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 72
Location: Austin, TX

You need to define a Transmission Queue, a sender Channel and a Remote Queue Definition( pointing to the local queue on receiving QM) on the sending Queue Manager.
On the receiving Queue Manager you need to create a Local Queue, and a receiving channel with the same name as sender channel.
Don't forget to start listener program on the receiving QM B4 you start channels.

After this set-up. if you put messages on Remote Queue, you should be able to get the messages on the Local Queue of the Receiving QM.

Regards
Morpheus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mgrabinski
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2003 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 16 Oct 2001
Posts: 246
Location: Katowice, Poland

Here is a sample configuration:

Code:

QM1 <=> QM2

* a) manager QM1

* remote queue (for putting messages):
DEFINE QREMOTE(TO.QM2) +
          RNAME(FROM.QM1) +
          RQMNANE(QM2) +
          XMITQ(QM2)

* transmission queue:
DEFINE QLOCAL(QM2) +
          USAGE(XMITQ)

* channel SENDER:
DEFINE CHANNEL(QM1.QM2) +
          CHLTYPE(SDR) +
          XMITQ(QM2) +
          TRPTYPE(TCP) +
          CONNAME(QM2_IP)

* channel RECEIVER:
DEFINE CHANNEL(QM2.QM1) +
          CHLTYPE(RCVR) +
          TRPTYPE(TCP)

* receiving queue
DEFINE QLOCAL(FROM.QM2)

* b) manager QM2

* remote queue (for putting messages):
DEFINE QREMOTE(TO.QM1) +
          RNAME(FROM.QM2) +
          RQMANE(QM1) +
          XMITQ(QM1)

* transmission queue:
DEFINE QLOCAL(QM1) +
          USAGE(XMITQ)

* channel SENDER:
DEFINE CHANNEL(QM2.QM1) +
          CHLTYPE(SDR) +
          XMITQ(QM1) +
          TRPTYPE(TCP) +
          CONNAME(QM1_IP)

* channel RECEIVER:
DEFINE CHANNEL(QM1.QM2) +
          CHLTYPE(RCVR) +
          TRPTYPE(TCP)

* receiving queue
DEFINE QLOCAL(FROM.QM1)


PS. Brandon - since request for such configuration are pretty common here, canl you put this script in the software repository? Make a new category "MQSC scripts", for example. It would be a great help for all beginners.
_________________
Marcin Grabinski <><
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Michael Dag
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2003 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 13 Jun 2002
Posts: 2607
Location: The Netherlands (Amsterdam)

Also... he wants to run these 2 qmgrs on the same box, so assign listener port 1414 to QM A and listener port 1415 to QM B (and don't forget to include the portnumber in the CONNAME.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
bower5932
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2003 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Aug 2001
Posts: 3023
Location: Dallas, TX, USA

Try looking at:

http://www.developer.ibm.com/tech/faq/individual/0,,2:20267,00.html

or

http://www.developer.ibm.com/tech/faq/individual/0,,2:13455,00.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General Discussion » Basic MQ settings : need help
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.