Author |
Message
|
Prahasith |
Posted: Fri May 23, 2003 12:23 pm Post subject: UPES |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 16 May 2003 Posts: 184 Location: Kansas City
|
how does upes message handler know which program to invoke depending on the xml message it recieved.Is it specified in the xml message
when we do not specify the program name in build time, how does the message handler invoke the particular program associated with the particular activity |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MaheshPN |
Posted: Fri May 23, 2003 12:35 pm Post subject: UPES |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 21 May 2003 Posts: 245 Location: Charlotte, NC
|
Hi,
Upes does run any application. It simply puts the xml message in the Queue which u have specified.
It is up to u how u use it. What we normaly do is, we will make that queue as triggered queue which is monitored by Trigger monitor program.
We specifiy the program to execute in the program monitor.
Once you are through with data if the UPES is of type Syncronous you have generate an XML in the specified format and put it in to wokflow Queue.
Hope this will help u
Mahesh
IBM Certified Solution Expert - MQWorkflow |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Prahasith |
Posted: Fri May 23, 2003 12:47 pm Post subject: upes |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 16 May 2003 Posts: 184 Location: Kansas City
|
when you have many programs which program is executed
how does the program monitor resolve it
the xml message does not have any program info. If I am right |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ratan |
Posted: Fri May 23, 2003 12:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Jul 2002 Posts: 1245
|
Workflow puts out a an <ActivityImplInvoke> message which has the program identifier and the Program input data in it to the UPES queue. your UPES should read the xml, determine the program identifier, and invoke the appropriate program( you can have it in some file). Depending on the programs output, UPES should again generate a <ActivityImplInvokeResponse> message and put it back to workflow. _________________ -Ratan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MaheshPN |
Posted: Fri May 23, 2003 12:55 pm Post subject: UPES |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 21 May 2003 Posts: 245 Location: Charlotte, NC
|
hI
Once the message is in Queue it is the WebSphere MQseries which works on that. In trigger monitor u can able to specify only one program name.
if possible try to get some info on MQSeries Triggering. I think most of your doubts will be cleared
Mahesh
IBM Certified Solution Expert - MQWorkflow |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ratan |
Posted: Fri May 23, 2003 1:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Jul 2002 Posts: 1245
|
Mahesh,
I think Prahasith and you are on different pages. I though Prahasith wants to know how an activity implementation is executed. how can UPES which activity implementation to invoke. You seem to explain how a UPES itself is started. May be I am wrong and it is the other way round. _________________ -Ratan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Prahasith |
Posted: Fri May 23, 2003 1:05 pm Post subject: upes |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 16 May 2003 Posts: 184 Location: Kansas City
|
ratan thank you
I read the same thing in the programming guide but I couldn't understand it.
can you elaborate on program identifier
how does workflow put a program identifier when we do not give any program name in build time
or depending on the parameters a program takes,
does the assigning of a particular xml message to a particular program works out ?? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ratan |
Posted: Fri May 23, 2003 1:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Jul 2002 Posts: 1245
|
Quote: |
how does workflow put a program identifier when we do not give any program name in build time
|
This is not true. For every activity you HAVE TO specify a program name and in Execution tab, you have to select a User defined Program Execution Server.
UPES is any XML parsing program that listens to the specified UPES queue, when a new xml comes in, it parses through it, determines the program name and invoke it. Get the output from the program implementation, sticks it in a <ActivityImplInvokeResponse> message and sends it back to workflow. _________________ -Ratan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ratan |
Posted: Fri May 23, 2003 1:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Jul 2002 Posts: 1245
|
I think I know what is confusing you. It is probably the fact that you dont specify any perticular exe in the program definition in buildtime.
UPES should know which program to invoke for a perticular workflow Program Name. For this you can have a file in which all the Workflow Program Names and the real programs that need to be invoked are defined. For each message UPES will read this file, determine which is the real program or class to be invoked and does that.
Does this make sense? _________________ -Ratan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Prahasith |
Posted: Fri May 23, 2003 1:22 pm Post subject: upes |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 16 May 2003 Posts: 184 Location: Kansas City
|
Then its being implemented here in a different way
I don't see any program name defined in the activity
may be have to check with them
anyway thank you |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Prahasith |
Posted: Fri May 23, 2003 1:26 pm Post subject: upes |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 16 May 2003 Posts: 184 Location: Kansas City
|
I got it now
I didn't know about the upes reading the file |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Fri May 23, 2003 1:26 pm Post subject: Re: UPES |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Prahasith wrote: |
how does upes message handler know which program to invoke depending on the xml message it recieved.Is it specified in the xml message |
You aren't by chance using the SYSCOM Message Handler?
Let me know if you are, and I can explain to you how that works.
It could be just your wording here is throwing me off. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED
Last edited by jmac on Fri May 23, 2003 1:35 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Prahasith |
Posted: Fri May 23, 2003 1:31 pm Post subject: upes |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 16 May 2003 Posts: 184 Location: Kansas City
|
nope we are using a java application, far before syscom brought the message handler into the market. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ratan |
Posted: Fri May 23, 2003 1:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Jul 2002 Posts: 1245
|
Quote: |
I don't see any program name defined in the activity
may be have to check with them
|
There is no way you can define an activity and not assign a program to it. _________________ -Ratan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MaheshPN |
Posted: Fri May 23, 2003 2:28 pm Post subject: UPES |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 21 May 2003 Posts: 245 Location: Charlotte, NC
|
As Ratan said,
Program name is must.
Here is the sample xml file which contains program name and Filename.
Though Filename is not used during xml creation that can serve to find the actual file name.
<WfMessage>
<WfMessageHeader>
<ResponseRequired>Yes</ResponseRequired>
</WfMessageHeader>
<ActivityImplInvoke>
<ActImplCorrelID>RUEASAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAABAAAAAgBHgAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAE
AAAACQQBIAAkAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAFF</ActImplCorrelID>
<Starter>STARTER</Starter>
<ProgramID>
<ProcTemplID>AEeAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAQ==</ProcTemplID>
<ProgramName>UPES</ProgramName></ProgramID>
<ImplementationData>
<ImplementationPlatform>WindowsNT</ImplementationPlatform>
<ProgramParameters />
<ExeOptions>
<PathAndFileName>fmcnshow.exe</PathAndFileName>
<InheritEnvironment>true</InheritEnvironment>
<StartInForeGround>true</StartInForeGround>
<WindowStyle>Visible</WindowStyle>
</ExeOptions>
....
Mahesh
IBM Certified Solution Expert - MQWorkflow |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|