|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
[Solved] Reply-To Queue Question |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
sevenfan |
Posted: Fri Jun 06, 2003 3:45 pm Post subject: [Solved] Reply-To Queue Question |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 22 May 2003 Posts: 42
|
I'm up to chapter 4 in the interconnectivity documentation, but have a question. I have two queue managers, that need to talk to each other. I can place a message on the remote queue definition on the local queue manager, and I see that the message makes it the remote queue just fine. What I need to do now is extend this so that I have COA and COD.
I set up a new queue on my source queue manager, thinking that the remote queue manager would use the send channel previously defined on the remote queue manager to send back the reply.
What am I missing? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
clindsey |
Posted: Sat Jun 07, 2003 5:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Knight
Joined: 12 Jul 2002 Posts: 586 Location: Dallas, Tx
|
Sevenfan,
You need to sdr/rcvr channel pairs going both ways, e.g. each qmgr will have a sdr and each will have a rcvr plus you may want channel initiators to auto start the channels. Either way, make sure the channels are started.
Next make sure you have an xmit q defined that has a name matching the partner's qmgr name.
Also, you need listeners for each qmgr. If the qmgrs are on the same physical box, the listeners must be on different ports. This should take care of the flow of messages in both directions.
Put the name of the new queue you created in the MQMD ReplyToQ field of the request message and you should get a COA/COD report back to this queue.
Hope this helps,
Charlie |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sevenfan |
Posted: Sun Jun 08, 2003 2:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 22 May 2003 Posts: 42
|
I started to say that I was missing the definition of the sender/receiver channels in the other direction, but double checked, and that is set up. I know that that part works, since I can send messages that way. So I can send the message from A to B, and from B to A.
Also, I pass the name of the queue manager and queue name that needs to get the reply in the message, prior to placing the message on the queue. I've double checked that the channels are started in both directions.
Any other ideas? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sevenfan |
Posted: Sun Jun 08, 2003 3:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 22 May 2003 Posts: 42
|
I was looking through my Java code and noticed that I am not asking for a reply anyplace before I put the message on the queue. I was thinking that I needed to specify confirm on delivery or something before I would see something in my reply-to queue. If that is the case, the docs are a little confusing on how I set that up in the message. Can anyone confirm that I am on the right track, and show how to do this?
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
clindsey |
Posted: Sun Jun 08, 2003 6:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Knight
Joined: 12 Jul 2002 Posts: 586 Location: Dallas, Tx
|
Sorry, I thought you already had COA or COD set up.
Set the report field of the message object to one of the COA/COD options,
like MQRO_COA_WITH_DATA.
msg.report |= MQC.MQRO_COA_WITH_DATA
The qmanager on the remote end sends the reply. If you are doing some
kind of application request/reply, then you need an app on the remote end that generates the reply and sends it to the replytoqueue.
Charlie |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sevenfan |
Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2003 6:55 am Post subject: Cool!!! |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 22 May 2003 Posts: 42
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|