Author |
Message
|
vent |
Posted: Wed May 07, 2003 6:57 pm Post subject: Block activity exit criteria |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 02 May 2003 Posts: 2
|
Hi All,
I would appreciate if any one could help me with the questions regarding block activity. I am a newbie to MQWorkFlow.
I have defined a block activity. The block activity in turn contains 3 activities, lets say 1, 2, 3. The first activity does some processing and sets a container member called isError.
I have a control connector from 1 to 2, if the value of isError is set to "YES", it satisfies the transient condition specified for thsi control connector. There is a default control connector to activity 3 from 1. Activity3 is a noop. There is a default data connector defined for activity 3.
There is an exit condition defined for the block, which is isError <> "YES". Also there is a data loop connector for the block.
The problem that I have is, If my activity1 sets the isError value to NO, the block activity gets into a infinite loop mode. I expected it to end after the first iteration. Can someone point me what I am doing wrong.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
amittalekar |
Posted: Thu May 08, 2003 5:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 03 Apr 2002 Posts: 166 Location: VA, USA
|
check whether u have mapped isError from activity1 to activity3 . Also check whether u carrying this flag from activity 3 to the o/p container of ur block. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Thu May 08, 2003 6:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
The key is to make sure that the field "isError" is mapped to the Sink of the Block. My guess is that you have not mapped this to the sink. You can easily see if this is true by examining the fmcsys.log file. You would see a message indicating that the fied "isError" is in a not Set condition.
GOOD LUCK _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ratan |
Posted: Thu May 08, 2003 7:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Jul 2002 Posts: 1245
|
I dont see anything wrong with your block. As you said the Exit condition is isError= YES. I would expect it to loop as long as isError=NO. I think once your isError=NO, your Activity 1 is not changing it again, resulting in an infinite loop.
-Ratan. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vent |
Posted: Thu May 08, 2003 7:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 02 May 2003 Posts: 2
|
Hi All,
Thanks for the response, I checked my models with the suggestions
Amit,
I checked for the mapping from Activity 1 to 3, and found that It is mapped. I tried to print the descrption of '%IsError% in activity 3 and got the value NO(which is what I am setting it in activity 1).
John,
My output data structure from activity 2 and 3 are the same. They map to the sink node(which also has the same datastructure). So I thought the data elements be mapped by default. Is the assumption right? or should it be mapped explicitly.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Fri May 09, 2003 5:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Vent:
Same data structure should be mapped automatically.
Send me your fdl and Ill have a look _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
amittalekar |
Posted: Fri May 09, 2003 5:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 03 Apr 2002 Posts: 166 Location: VA, USA
|
If datastructure of activity 3 is same as o/p data structure of the block then u don't have to explicitly map. I guess this is case with u.. right?..
Last thing I suggest u to check is, whether u have imported proper FDL in runtime? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ratan |
Posted: Fri May 09, 2003 6:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Jul 2002 Posts: 1245
|
John / Amit,
I dont see anything wrong with his block. It is behaving as he explained. May be you guys can throw some light.
-Ratan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Fri May 09, 2003 6:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Ratan:
If the FDL describes exactly what the post says, then I agree it appears to be OK.
However, Cardinal rule of our business "Never Trust Anyone". I need to see the FDL to be sure. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|